Garlic Mashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is another good healthy recipe that I found under the MyPlate recipes collection that I really enjoyed. I have tried cauliflower a couple times in my life and I could not stand it. But I kept hearing about how good mashed cauliflower is so I decided to go ahead and give it another chance..and I'm so glad I did! I used fresh cauliflower and used minced garlic. I overdid it with the garlic but that was my fault. Next time I will use much less garlic and more parmesan cheese. I just love being able to prepare a healthy dish that also tastes great! thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I absolutely HATE cauliflower! What possessed me to try this recipe I have no idea, but I am glad I did! Creamy and delicious and definitely not overpowering on the cauliflower flavor. A few hints to make it stand out: Be sure you drain the cauliflower after steaming. You may even find a way to squeeze excess water from it. Once everything is blended, it is very thin. It holds it's shape and "acts" like mashed potatoes, but still very thin. I felt the salt was actually lacking so I doubled the amount. Keep the food processor running the whole time while you add stuff. You want to really process the heck out of it to get that creamy consistency. HERE IS THE BIG HINT!!! Once you are done and ready to scoop it out of the food processor to serve it - DON'T! Scoop it out and put it back in the pot you used to steam the cauliflower (after draining and drying the pot). Heat it until piping hot. On medium, this will only take a minute or two while you stir constantly. Because the cauliflower is whirring around in the processor and you're adding cold cream cheese and cold parmesan cheese, it really brings the temperature way down. I ate it immediately (it was good) and then tried a 2nd batch after heating it and the difference was dramatic. HEAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I love cauliflower so I'm always looking for ideas. This turned out great. I may try it next time with roasted cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. This is unbelievable! I have tried mashed cauliflower before and it was terrible. I don't know if this is so good because of steaming it or using the food processor instead of a mixer or adding cream cheese and parm. But whatever it is, I'm not messing with it! My husband even thought he was eating mashed potatoes (just not my usual ones :) I will definitely make this again. ***7/31/13 - I made this again and messed with it :) I used Laughing Cow Light Garlic and Herb Cheese Wedges and refrigerated minced garlic. I also used my immersion blender which worked very well. Came out great and was even easier to make with less clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I switched to a low g.i. diet, and I love this recipe. Tastes great, and nice to have with a grilled steak. The only thing I do differently is roast a few cloves of garlic in the oven (toss in olive oil) rather than sauteing it., and using some butter (not much) instead of cream cheese. I have made this several times, and have found that the food processor makes a big difference. I've tried mashing with potato masher as well as hand mixer, but the texture comes out best with the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cwby2nz
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Delicious. this will become a regular with our dinners. We never eat mashed potatoes due to the starch and carbs. But THIS . . . well this is so good! I whipped it until smooth in my vitamix. I also added a bit more cream cheese, maybe another tablespoon, and a bit of cream. I used shaved parmesan as well as grated. The grated really brought out the parmesan flavor, so I'm not sure that using the shaved added anything. I just had some in my refrigerator and thought I'd use it. The grated is much stronger. Bottom line, I am making this regularly from now on!! YAY!! it's like we get mashed potatoes again! NO starches or carbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight. They are amazing! I didn't have cream cheese so I used a tablespoon of butter and also added a little 1% milk to help with the blending process. They taste just like garlic mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I. Loved. These. What more can I say. I had tried mashed cauliflower in a restaurant once and really did not care for it. This, however, was delicious. I will make this alot now. I substituted full fat sour cream for the cream cheese because that's what I had on hand and it worked great. I also used butter to saute the garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was delicious! The kids were skeptical, but they too loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Delicious. I used my immersion blender to puree. I added a bit more fresh herbs (right in the steamer) and used non dairy cream cheese as well as Parm cheese. I am going to stock up on cauliflower when it goes on sale because my family really enjoyed this. **5/14/13 update. I roasted my cauliflower with garlic and onions I tossed in a little olive oil with some salt and pepper. I added fresh herbs the last 5 minutes of cooking then pureed everything in a bowl using my stick blender. Took the flavor to another level; soooo good! I sprinkled with Parmesan cheese to serve. Even my one son - who never eats cauliflower- ate this and asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States