Garlic Mashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've tried many variations of mashed cauliflower and while I've enjoyed them all, all were not as "fluffy" as I would like, and in fact leaned toward the "porridge-like" side - until now. Steaming the cauliflower, rather than cooking it in water, obviously is the solution and I'm happy to be this recipe's first reviewer so I can reveal the secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
From a healthy standpoint this recipe is great. It is low carb, has fiber, low fat, and low calories. To top, it is super easy to make. The garlic flavor is prominent, so you must like garlic. I had a 16oz bag of cauliflower in the freezer, I wanted to use up. I defrosted it and steamed it in the microwave for 5 minutes. For the tablespoon of cream cheese I had to use regular, as it was all I had from another recipe. The salt seemed like a lot, so I did use the Kosher salt suggested. It wasn't too salty. I don't have a food processor, so I put it in my Vitamix blender on medium speed. I tried to cream half of it, but it moved to the sides of the container. So, I added the rest of the ingredients minus the other half of the cauliflower. When I did that it all blended. After it was creamed I added the other half of the cauliflower and blended it until it was a good consistency. I like the way this looks like mashed potatoes, but doesn't give that heavy belly filling. I got about 3 small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is a great variation to use cauliflower. I grow my own and have been looking for some tasty recopies. I did modify the recipe slightly by topping with butter which melted on the top. Additionally I added some spices for more flavor. Otherwise the method of mashing the vegetable is awesome. My husband had two large helping. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I love cauli, so I knew I would like this recipe. However, please try next time to roast the cauli first; sprinkle evoo, garlic salt/pepper on 400d til it turns brown/crispy...then mash it and add the cream cheese and parm cheese to make it really creamy. You'll never eat cauli any other way! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyl46

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I absolutely HATE cauliflower! What possessed me to try this recipe I have no idea, but I am glad I did! Creamy and delicious and definitely not overpowering on the cauliflower flavor. A few hints to make it stand out: Be sure you drain the cauliflower after steaming. You may even find a way to squeeze excess water from it. Once everything is blended, it is very thin. It holds it's shape and "acts" like mashed potatoes, but still very thin. I felt the salt was actually lacking so I doubled the amount. Keep the food processor running the whole time while you add stuff. You want to really process the heck out of it to get that creamy consistency. HERE IS THE BIG HINT!!! Once you are done and ready to scoop it out of the food processor to serve it - DON'T! Scoop it out and put it back in the pot you used to steam the cauliflower (after draining and drying the pot). Heat it until piping hot. On medium, this will only take a minute or two while you stir constantly. Because the cauliflower is whirring around in the processor and you're adding cold cream cheese and cold parmesan cheese, it really brings the temperature way down. I ate it immediately (it was good) and then tried a 2nd batch after heating it and the difference was dramatic. HEAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by Cwby2nz
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Delicious. this will become a regular with our dinners. We never eat mashed potatoes due to the starch and carbs. But THIS . . . well this is so good! I whipped it until smooth in my vitamix. I also added a bit more cream cheese, maybe another tablespoon, and a bit of cream. I used shaved parmesan as well as grated. The grated really brought out the parmesan flavor, so I'm not sure that using the shaved added anything. I just had some in my refrigerator and thought I'd use it. The grated is much stronger. Bottom line, I am making this regularly from now on!! YAY!! it's like we get mashed potatoes again! NO starches or carbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is another good healthy recipe that I found under the MyPlate recipes collection that I really enjoyed. I have tried cauliflower a couple times in my life and I could not stand it. But I kept hearing about how good mashed cauliflower is so I decided to go ahead and give it another chance..and I'm so glad I did! I used fresh cauliflower and used minced garlic. I overdid it with the garlic but that was my fault. Next time I will use much less garlic and more parmesan cheese. I just love being able to prepare a healthy dish that also tastes great! thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight. They are amazing! I didn't have cream cheese so I used a tablespoon of butter and also added a little 1% milk to help with the blending process. They taste just like garlic mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I switched to a low g.i. diet, and I love this recipe. Tastes great, and nice to have with a grilled steak. The only thing I do differently is roast a few cloves of garlic in the oven (toss in olive oil) rather than sauteing it., and using some butter (not much) instead of cream cheese. I have made this several times, and have found that the food processor makes a big difference. I've tried mashing with potato masher as well as hand mixer, but the texture comes out best with the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I. Loved. These. What more can I say. I had tried mashed cauliflower in a restaurant once and really did not care for it. This, however, was delicious. I will make this alot now. I substituted full fat sour cream for the cream cheese because that's what I had on hand and it worked great. I also used butter to saute the garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States