Garlic Lover's Pizza Crust for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Update: Wow! I love this recipe! I have made this recipe probably 30 times, no kidding. Homemade "pizza" (actually cheese bread, no red sauce) has become a Sat. lunch or dinner tradition at our house. While I have tried several other pizza crust recipes on this site, this one remains our fav and the one I keep coming back to. The printed recipe card in my recipe box is so worn and tattered that I need to print a new one! I almost have it memorized. Also, wanted to say that 6oz. of liquid is 3/4 of a cup, according to my pampered chef liquid measure. Original review:I love that you can make the dough in the bread machine. I did add a little parmesan cheese as the machine was mixing it, and that helped it come together nicely. I then left it in the frig overnight and make it today for lunch for my boys. I made a cheese bread instead of traditional pizza (my 8yo doesn't like the red sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this recipe using 2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of bread flour and I used the pizza dough setting on my bread machine. After rolling it flat and letting it rise a bit I swiped it with Olive oil and a little fresh garlic and sprinkled cheese on top. The kids LOVED it with some marinara dipping sauce! We'll definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Niezgocki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Disappointingly lacking in garlic flavor, and a dense, chewy texture. Sorry, but if you're going to make your own pizza, it deserves better than this. Leave the garlic out of the crust altogether and put it on top where it belongs. Or, if you must, try brushing the outer edge of a good, unflavored crust - before or after baking - with a mixture of fresh minced garlic, herbs (oregano, parsley, basil...), salt and olive oil and/or melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Very yummy -- great garlic flavor! I've tried a couple other pizza crusts in the bread machine in the past but they always tasted bland. Not this one. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and it still turned out great. I also skipped the kneading by hand and resting. My machine has a "pizza dough" cycle, so I assumed that would be sufficient, which it was. I used a generous amount of olive oil on my hands and the crust when I spread it out to avoid any issues with stickiness as mentioned in another review, although the dough didn't appear to be overly sticky to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This recipe is a great one. I doubled the recipe and it worked out really well. I will use this one again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Great base for pizza. I increased the garlic by about 6 cloves -very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Yummy!! Very easy and user friendly. I have used the garlic and another time did not. Both great. It works great on the barbeque also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is a terrific pizza crust recipe. We eat pizza several times a month and we always use this recipe. I usually don't use all the garlic the recipe calls for because my oldest son keeps the smell on his breath for two days. (smile) This is a soft and flavorful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Was very light and delicious. Would recommend this recipe for any pizza or even the breadsticks that are so popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Yum! My new favorite pizza crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

This gluten-free cauliflower crust pizza can take on any topping!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States