Garlic Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I love Kale and I use this method often. I eat a lot of Kale, and unless its fresh from the garden (usually after the first frost), I tend to cook it for around 15 minutes to prevent it tasting rubbery. First if I have a large bunch of kale I'll thinly slice a whole bulb of garlic, because I love garlic. If I add the garlic first, it burns, so I cook the kale for a good 10 minutes before adding the garlic. To cut down on oil, I'll cut up the kale and then rinse it off in the strainer. I use the water left on the kale leaves combined with a dash of oil to saute it. And finally I add some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
478 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
great taste, lots of nutrients in the kale and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was the first time I cooked kale. I was given two bunches of it. I wasn't sure what to expect because I had never eaten any either. I followed the recipe to the tee. I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. I also loved the simplicity of the recipe. I made it as a side to go with Italian meatballs and penne marinara. I sauteed mushrooms also. My family LOVED it. The combination of the mushrooms and garlic kale together was awesome. Everyone enjoyed it leftover the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was great, and so easy! I don't mind eating the stems (the part of the stem that contains the leaves, not the bare stalk part), so I just chop the leaves and stem without removing the leaves. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was so so yummy and so easy!! I did throw the kale in first and then the garlic, like one of the reviewers suggested. I loved it and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tezuka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Excellent! It was easy and fast. I prepared it exactly like the instructions and then did a sqeeze of lemon over it as I served it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccalcut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I usually steam kale or throw it into a stir fry. So this lovely quick and simple recipe made a nice change. "Do I like kale?" my husband asked looking at me suspiciously over the top of his glasses. After eating it cooked this way he had to agree with me that he does. I will be cooking kale this way again just adding a few grindings of black pepper. Thankyou Demara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I have made this for my family and everyone loves it. I like to add a pinch of sea salt and some grated Parmesan when it hits the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Yum. Just needed a little fresh cracked black pepper and it was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I use this all the time but slight variations- if you steam the kale first it takesm more of the bitterness out. Also, I like to sauté until crispier, and add red pepper flakes for a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States