Garlic Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I love Kale and I use this method often. I eat a lot of Kale, and unless its fresh from the garden (usually after the first frost), I tend to cook it for around 15 minutes to prevent it tasting rubbery. First if I have a large bunch of kale I'll thinly slice a whole bulb of garlic, because I love garlic. If I add the garlic first, it burns, so I cook the kale for a good 10 minutes before adding the garlic. To cut down on oil, I'll cut up the kale and then rinse it off in the strainer. I use the water left on the kale leaves combined with a dash of oil to saute it. And finally I add some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
459 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
great taste, lots of nutrients in the kale and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was the first time I cooked kale. I was given two bunches of it. I wasn't sure what to expect because I had never eaten any either. I followed the recipe to the tee. I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. I also loved the simplicity of the recipe. I made it as a side to go with Italian meatballs and penne marinara. I sauteed mushrooms also. My family LOVED it. The combination of the mushrooms and garlic kale together was awesome. Everyone enjoyed it leftover the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was great, and so easy! I don't mind eating the stems (the part of the stem that contains the leaves, not the bare stalk part), so I just chop the leaves and stem without removing the leaves. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was so so yummy and so easy!! I did throw the kale in first and then the garlic, like one of the reviewers suggested. I loved it and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tezuka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Excellent! It was easy and fast. I prepared it exactly like the instructions and then did a sqeeze of lemon over it as I served it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccalcut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I usually steam kale or throw it into a stir fry. So this lovely quick and simple recipe made a nice change. "Do I like kale?" my husband asked looking at me suspiciously over the top of his glasses. After eating it cooked this way he had to agree with me that he does. I will be cooking kale this way again just adding a few grindings of black pepper. Thankyou Demara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I have made this for my family and everyone loves it. I like to add a pinch of sea salt and some grated Parmesan when it hits the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Yum. Just needed a little fresh cracked black pepper and it was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I use this all the time but slight variations- if you steam the kale first it takesm more of the bitterness out. Also, I like to sauté until crispier, and add red pepper flakes for a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States