Garlic Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is my first encounter with cooking kale. I had some in our fridge and had tasted a leaf raw and it was very peppery. A few days later I tried it again (same area on the leaf) and it had mellowed out to being a strong broccoli-stalk like flavor. (I have read before that many lettuces turn bitter after/during the hottest part of the summer and they mellow if kept in the fridge 2-3 days before consuming). I was drawn to this recipe because we love garlic and I thought it might help us to acquire a taste for including kale in our diet. I cooked it exactly as specified in the recipe. My husband loved it, the kids and myself forced ourselves to eat it. IMO, it wasn't horrible, just very strong and not something I could eat on its own as a side dish. I had made fried potatoes with bite-size meat, so stirring about 2 T. of this kale into the mix made it easier for me to tolerate. The only reason I'll make it again is because we have a tortoise who eats kale, but doesn't eat as much as what comes in the bundle. I can't bring myself to toss out the 'extra' so we'lll keep trying. It's healthy at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Yummy, yummy, yummy! Thank you. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Thanks for sharing. Preparded 1 pound of kale per your recipe and added an onion. Additional cooking time was required...but...The results were worth the wait. Since I'm cooking for 2, I reserved some to make soup by adding kielbasa, carrots, onions, cannoli beans, potatoes and chicken stock that I already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Used 1/2 bag prewashed cut up kale. Sauteed it with a little oil and water for 10 min. before adding minced garlic. Then cooked for about 10 more minutes. Added 1-2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar, then a dash of lemon juice. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Delicious and easy. I added some caramelized onion amp up the flavor. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Very simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Super easy and very tasty! I paired this with Blackened catfish and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was our first attempt with Kale. Used lots of garlic because I wasn't sure of the taste. It does take some getting use to but the extra garlic helped..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Like eating grass flavored cardboard. Not a fan at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
SO happy I tried this simple alternative to 'something green' for New Year's : ) - I used the pre-washed, bagged kale, steamed it a bit first, then followed recipe (crushing the sliced garlic and letting it sit out for a bit first - read that is somehow the 'healthiest' way to cook with garlic?) I was fully prepared for bitterness, but this was excellent - just a simple garlic taste (with a touch of salt that I added at the end.) Given how healthy kale is, I can't wait to make more of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States