Garlic Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Sorry to the creator of this for giving it so few stars. Maybe it's scrumptious to kale-lovers. I'd advise those who haven't yet determined whether they like kale yet or not to make a very small batch. If you don't like it but you want to consume kale for health purposes, you can throw it in a blender with apple, banana, avocado, spinach, a little water and ice and (if you like things a little sweeter), some honey or stevia. This recipe is even delicious if you DON'T like kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Cox Gabbard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The whole family loved it. Added a dash of kosher salt and some parm. cheese. Will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is my first encounter with cooking kale. I had some in our fridge and had tasted a leaf raw and it was very peppery. A few days later I tried it again (same area on the leaf) and it had mellowed out to being a strong broccoli-stalk like flavor. (I have read before that many lettuces turn bitter after/during the hottest part of the summer and they mellow if kept in the fridge 2-3 days before consuming). I was drawn to this recipe because we love garlic and I thought it might help us to acquire a taste for including kale in our diet. I cooked it exactly as specified in the recipe. My husband loved it, the kids and myself forced ourselves to eat it. IMO, it wasn't horrible, just very strong and not something I could eat on its own as a side dish. I had made fried potatoes with bite-size meat, so stirring about 2 T. of this kale into the mix made it easier for me to tolerate. The only reason I'll make it again is because we have a tortoise who eats kale, but doesn't eat as much as what comes in the bundle. I can't bring myself to toss out the 'extra' so we'lll keep trying. It's healthy at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Yummy, yummy, yummy! Thank you. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Thanks for sharing. Preparded 1 pound of kale per your recipe and added an onion. Additional cooking time was required...but...The results were worth the wait. Since I'm cooking for 2, I reserved some to make soup by adding kielbasa, carrots, onions, cannoli beans, potatoes and chicken stock that I already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Used 1/2 bag prewashed cut up kale. Sauteed it with a little oil and water for 10 min. before adding minced garlic. Then cooked for about 10 more minutes. Added 1-2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar, then a dash of lemon juice. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Delicious and easy. I added some caramelized onion amp up the flavor. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Very simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Super easy and very tasty! I paired this with Blackened catfish and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was our first attempt with Kale. Used lots of garlic because I wasn't sure of the taste. It does take some getting use to but the extra garlic helped..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States