Garlic Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very decent recipe. I made three batches and for the first used the exact recipe. I made the second with the roasted garlic modification and it is definitely the better jelly. With the third batch(because I was out of white vinegar) I used apple cider vinegar and also added roasted garlic, parsley,and rosemary to the garlic which upped the garlic mix to 1/2 a cup rather then a 1/4 cup. The third version is going to be an excellent pork rub for sure! I did not have any problems with set at all but one jar didn't want to seal so I put it in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes and then let it stand. It sealed. I can see that this might not be everyone's cup of tea but it works for me! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
If you are a jelly maker this is a great receipe. The only change I made was to put 2/3 of a cup in cloves in food processor and it made a 1/2 cup of puree. I do craft fairs and this will be my new jelly of the season. The 1/2 cup puree cuts the vinegar and gives it the garlic taste you want with a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Not what I was expecting. I doubled the amount of garlic and still didn't get as much garlic as I thought would be there. Vinegar is a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I love garlic. I could not eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zary125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is amazing with crackers and cream cheese... I added about 1/2 cup chopped garlic to add texture and just after adding the pectin I added whole jalapeno peppers one for each jar made. I hope it has a bit of heat when I open for the next cocktail party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
this was absolutely awful! The smell and taste were not at all appetising - and i love garlic! it used a whole bag of sugar and basically was a waste of ingredients. i wont be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I love garlic, and thought this would be interesting to try; unfortuantely it wasn't all I had hoped. Could be personal taste, but I found the garlic/sugar/vinegar mixture ended up tasting just like it sounds, and the flavours didn't blend nicely. I now have 12 jars of garlic jelly, and don't know what to do with it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I made this recipe and gave it out to a few friends. Those who love garlic will love this. I have used it on pork and baked chicken. Next time, I will use roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I had planned to give this as Christmas gifts. I love garlic and thought this would be delicious. It didn't live up to my expectations and I ended up making jalapeno jelly instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Different, but good. Smells like garlic & vinegar a lot. Haven't tasted it yet, but I'm sure it will be a great marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States