Garlic-Herb Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was tasty! BUT, I was surprised that it took much longer to cook than what the recipe called for, taking 1 hr and 10 minutes. The internal temp would not get to the 145 degrees (used two thermometers: a digital and dial). It was, however, worth the wait! It would be a 5 star, but because of time had to increase, I'm giving it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Oh my gosh. SO good. The paste was to die for. It cooked a LOT longer than the recipe said but that may be because I had potatoes roasting in the oven as well. Will DEFINITELY make again, and may use the paste for other things too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Fabulous pork dish! I made the recipe exactly as written and will be making this again! The flavor was amazing and even the leftovers got eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
For those of you who said it took longer to cook than the recipes states, the recipe says: "Turn oven temperature down to 300 degrees F., roast for 15-20 minutes, TAKE INTERNAL TEMPERATURE using an instant-read thermometer. WHEN THE INTERNAL TEMPERATURE OF THE ROAST IS 145 DEGREES F (63 degrees C), REMOVE FROM OVEN". That means just to take the temp after 15-20 minutes AND LEAVE IT IN THE OVEN until temp is 145. Just wanted to clarify that. I'm putting mine in the oven now. Update: Mine came out dry. I let it go to 150 F internal temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Norman Hastings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I was looking for a quick pork loin recipe that was moist and delicious but didn't require a marinade, and this fit the bill. I didn't use fresh spices and the flavor was still out of this world! I just added a tablespoon of lemon juice and left the rest of the recipe the same. My loin was only 1.15 lbs and although the amount of spices worked perfectly, so did the cooking time (barely). So if you have a 2 lb loin then you'll definitely need to cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessausorr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
First time I have managed to roast a regular (not tenderloin) pork loin without it coming out tough. I roasted potatoes with the pork, and then stirred them around in the drippings after the pork and potatoes sat under the foil for 10 minutes. It came out perfect! (I did have to cook the pork about 15 minutes longer than the recipe called for.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Tried it twice, twice it was great! For those who tried it and it came out dry, perhaps you used a tenderloin...big difference. And Joanne, where did you ever get the idea that pork needs to be cooked to 175 degrees?! You may call yourself a cook but nobody else does....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great recipe! Used dried Rosemary and table salt. But it was really good. Like my husband said, the flavor from the paste was all the way through the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKUHL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was fantastic. I made some changes though. First, instead of pork loin, I used salmon - Sockeye specifically. I swapped the oven out for a smoker running around 215 deg F, and added to the spices a St. Louis style dry rub. My version turned out great - thank you all other reviewers for giving this such a high rating for your individually proposed changes. Really great recipe thank you. This rating system is without flaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very good! I used dried sage (1 tsp) since I didn't have fresh. From other reviewers' advice, I used very little salt. I also added 3 large red potatoes, quartered, drizzled with olive oil, around the small pork roast. 15 minutes at 450, then 300 for 60 minutes. I turned the potatoes over halfway through. I used a meat thermometer to verify when the meat was done. A keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Goering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States