Garlic Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I know that there are Velveeta haters out there but, honestly folks, it works well in this recipe. I used the "light" version, it melted quickly, and gave these grits a mellow, cheesy taste. The garlic flavor is subtle and was just right. The grits were really runny at 25 minutes, so I baked an additional 15 minutes. I made this to serve with a dinner entree, so I didn't want grits that needed to be spooned out of the dish...that's OK for breakfast but not what I wanted for a dinner side dish. The consistency at 40 minutes was perfect: firm, but still very moist and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
these were delicious! i brought them to a supper club and several people who said that they normally hate grits actually went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Very good recipe. The grits was very creamy with just a hint of garlic....just right to me. If you like a stronger garlic flavor, you will want to increase the amount. Being from the South, however, and having cooked grits many times, I can tell you that the grits will be less lumpy if you put them into the water before you bring it to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
My family has used a recipe just like this for the several years. It has become a standard at every holiday meal. We all love it, including my preschoolers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Excellent! Used two cloves of garlic, and it was VERY garlicky. I might add another egg next time, because we were hoping it would be a little fluffier. It was perfect (to us) the next day, however. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe was an excellent addition to our Supper Club night. It complemented everything that the other couples brought. The recipe was so easy, and the end product was excellent! I would not recommend any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Great recipe! I would say to cook them longer than the recipe recommends, 25-30 mins. Also, grits won't necessarily be "firm;" just make sure they're not too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We loved it! I have used the same cheese garlic grit recipe for years and years, but Kraft quit making the garlic cheese I used for it, so I had to get a new recipe. Everyone thought this was better than the one I had been using. Glad to have changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Excellent, fast, easy side dish! I made bbq tilapia tonight and had this as my side dish. I am not a lover of processed cheese and like to keep calories low, so I used taco flavored shredded cheese (1/2 cup tops). I only used 2 T butter and I sauteed the garlic in it and added it to the cooked grits. I mixed in the rest and baked. Even my picky husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I, like reviewer Joni, made Garlic Cheese Grits for years using the Kraft Garlic Cheese Roll. Kraft discontinued making the garlic cheese roll and I went into mourning. This recipe is very similar, very good. The only changes I made were using two eggs instead of one, and using 1/4 tsp. garlic powder instead of the chopped garlic. Hint 1: To make smooth grits, as opposed to lumpy grits, when the water comes to a boil, slowly add grits while continuously stirring with a whisk. don;t forget to add the salt. Whisk until grits come to a boil, then turn temp to low until grits are thickened and cooked, stirring frequently. I place a lid loosely over the grits, because when the grits start to thicken the mixture can "pop up" and burn your arm. Hint 2: It is important to temper the egg(s) before adding to the hot grits, or there will be scrambled egg pieces in the grits. To temper egg(s), whisk egg(s) in a small bowl thoroughly. Pour some of the grit mixture, about 1/2 cup, into another small bowl or measuring cup. While whisking eggs, slowly pour the grit mixture until all is incorporated. Then, add this mixture to the grits. Lastly, I do prefer the processed cheese product for this recipe. (I know.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States