Garlic Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Our family loved this recipe. I cut the salt back to a heaping 1/4 teaspoon. The garlic and cheese added enough flavor that we couldn't tell the any salt was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is an excellent receipe. It's the timing that is off. I've made it twice. The first time I thought I did something wrong. The second time I kept track of the time and the tem. In a conventional oven at 350 degrees, it took 60 minutes to puff and brown. Maybe the member who offered the receipe has a convection oven, I don't know. And maybe I should turn up the oven to 400 degrees. Hummm. What to do. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I know that there are Velveeta haters out there but, honestly folks, it works well in this recipe. I used the "light" version, it melted quickly, and gave these grits a mellow, cheesy taste. The garlic flavor is subtle and was just right. The grits were really runny at 25 minutes, so I baked an additional 15 minutes. I made this to serve with a dinner entree, so I didn't want grits that needed to be spooned out of the dish...that's OK for breakfast but not what I wanted for a dinner side dish. The consistency at 40 minutes was perfect: firm, but still very moist and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I, like reviewer Joni, made Garlic Cheese Grits for years using the Kraft Garlic Cheese Roll. Kraft discontinued making the garlic cheese roll and I went into mourning. This recipe is very similar, very good. The only changes I made were using two eggs instead of one, and using 1/4 tsp. garlic powder instead of the chopped garlic. Hint 1: To make smooth grits, as opposed to lumpy grits, when the water comes to a boil, slowly add grits while continuously stirring with a whisk. don;t forget to add the salt. Whisk until grits come to a boil, then turn temp to low until grits are thickened and cooked, stirring frequently. I place a lid loosely over the grits, because when the grits start to thicken the mixture can "pop up" and burn your arm. Hint 2: It is important to temper the egg(s) before adding to the hot grits, or there will be scrambled egg pieces in the grits. To temper egg(s), whisk egg(s) in a small bowl thoroughly. Pour some of the grit mixture, about 1/2 cup, into another small bowl or measuring cup. While whisking eggs, slowly pour the grit mixture until all is incorporated. Then, add this mixture to the grits. Lastly, I do prefer the processed cheese product for this recipe. (I know.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Excellent, fast, easy side dish! I made bbq tilapia tonight and had this as my side dish. I am not a lover of processed cheese and like to keep calories low, so I used taco flavored shredded cheese (1/2 cup tops). I only used 2 T butter and I sauteed the garlic in it and added it to the cooked grits. I mixed in the rest and baked. Even my picky husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We loved it! I have used the same cheese garlic grit recipe for years and years, but Kraft quit making the garlic cheese I used for it, so I had to get a new recipe. Everyone thought this was better than the one I had been using. Glad to have changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is so much better if REAL cheese is used. ugh that processed stuff. A nice sharp cheddar is the way to go. Yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Great tasty recipe! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I did end up cooking it a good bit longer than the stated amount for it to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States