Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Everyone at a family dinner seemed to like them except for my 11 year-old stepson who politely whispered in my ear that he didn't like them. So when his older brother said that he would gladly eat them for him, the 11 year-old decided he would eat them after all. Apparently spite never tasted so good! Like others, I steamed fresh green beans and used less olive oil than called for. I also only used 3 cloves and that was plenty of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Very easy to make and tasty. Would probably be better with fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made this tonight with canned beans for guests. They loved it! Only thing I did differently was to cook the beans for 20 minutes rather than 10. (As we like ours softer). Next time I will double the recipe so there will be "seconds." Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
We've made these several times. Leave off the cheese, much better without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
The ingredients were good but I gave it 3 stars because cooking canned green beans for 10 mins is way too long - they are already cooked - just need to be warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Good and simple. I'm used to steaming my green beans, and I prefer the texture of steamed (these come out more al dente), but I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Sooo good! Used fresh green beans and don't forget the parmesan, it adds that extra yumminess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Followed the recipe to the letter and thought they were very good. Next time I might increase the amount of garlic though, but I'm a super garlic lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I used fresh green beans instead of canned green beans and it unfortunately was way too oily for me. Next time I would definitely cut down on the olive oil and butter! It needed quite a bit of salt using the fresh beans and the fresh beans took longer to cook - which I anticipated - but that is something to take note of if you are using fresh beans. If you use fresh beans you may need to either steam/lightly boil them first to cook them a little or you could add a little water to the pan and cover and steam that way after sauteing them which is what I did and it worked. I think this dish would be great with a little pancetta or some fresh lemon/zest. I did leave off the parmesan cheese since it turned out so oily but if I cut down the oil then I think the cheese would be excellent - fresh grated only! The recipe definitely has potential but just didn't work out for me this time. I'll definitely give it another go though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Not bad! Really easy, quick green bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmACee1203

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 838) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States