Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Nice change from regular steamed green beans. I cut back on the olive oil to one tsp as 3 tablespoons + butter seemed excessive. Threw in crumbled bacon and sauteed onion at the last minute. Be sure to use a good parmesan as it will make all the difference in the taste of this dish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Gosh...I really hate to put a lower star review on this recipe, but my family and I really did not like this recipe...and we're all garlic lovers, too. I've tried this 3 times now just to make sure I was doing it right, but every time, it has bombed. I think it was really a matter of preferences when it comes to vegetables, too. My family generally likes their vegetables steamed, and with little seasoning. The green bean flavor with the garlic and parmesan just didn't work. My grandmother even said, "What's wrong with these beans? They taste funny." I really tried to make this one work, especially given all the great reviews. Try it for yourself, though. I think this will probably appeal more to those who normally don't like beans, unlike my family...who grows about 5 different varieties in the backyard. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: California City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
Easy to make and delicious to eat. I used fresh green beans that I steamed before adding to the sauteed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
These vegetables were delicious!! I had been having a craving for green beans and this fit the bill perfectly. I did use fresh green beans and I boiled them in salted water for 4 minutes first so they were crisp-tender then shocked them in cold water before sauteeing them. I used less butter than suggested but they were still yummy!! Topped with asiago cheese! A definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This was really GOOD! I have had an abundance of beans this year from my garden and am tired of the GreenBean Casserole and just plain... this was really good. I used fresh beans, 2 CLOVES (not heads) of garlic and it was really terrific. I will make these again and SOON.... Nice change of pace. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
These were super yummy! I loved it!!! I reduced the olive oil as others suggested to 1 tablespoon and also only used 3 pieces of garlic instead of an entire head. I also used fresh green beans and steamed them for 4 minutes and then added them to the pan to saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Mmmm....not one left and got raves from picky eaters. I used extra virgin olive oil (is there any other kind to cook with??) and reduced to 2 tbsp. I also used frozen beans but thawed them before placing them in the skillet with the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Very good. I steamed fresh green beans for 2-3 minutes then sauteed them as recipe stated. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
Very yummy. I added 1/4 cup of pine nuts and it really complimented the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
LOVED IT! I used frozen green beans, & 1 Tbsp. oil, I also had to sub garlic powder (about a tsp.) to please my picky eaters, & they loved them! I am attending a pig roast this weekend & I plan to make this the "adult" way (all the garlic) and also use fresh green beans. Thanks Ericka!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 828) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States