Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Very tasty side dish. Added some bacon bites on top to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RVANDYKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Very good. I used fresh green beans instead of canned. I steamed them for 4 minutes before adding to garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
It looks like I made this 2 times now without realizing it. In my first review I made 1/2 recipe and followed it and said it made a nicely flavored oil that went well with rice. On my second attempt I made the full recipe but cut the parm, oil, and butter in half to make it healthier. I also used green beans with sea salt and lower sodium. I thought the green beans still tasted like they came from a can and the parmesan cheese became really sticky. It doesn't appear it is a recipe that can be lightened up. Overall, I think I will stick with the fresh green beans when making garlic or roasted green beans. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Dependably delicious but average as is. I chose to use fresh green beans, and dressed them up with sautéed chopped celery and red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This did not work out for me. The taste was bland and had to add extra seasonings. I try at least 3-5 recipes a week and this one will not be a repeater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I boil potatoes and add them to green beans I use fresh green beans, and do not use cheese add onions cut thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I've been making this recipe for around 5 years...and it is loved by everyone. I usually use fresh garlic in garlic recipes, but for this dish I just use the already minced garlic you can buy in a bottle...about two heaping teaspoons...instead of mincing an entire head of garlic by hand. It will save a LOT of time and I cannot taste the difference (I've tried it both ways). In addition, use the "shredded" parmesan instead of the grated, and if you can get a good quality parm...it will make a world of difference. This recipe is a staple in my kitchen, btw. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
One of my favs! So glad to see it on here! Been making it for years this way and it's nice to now make it for my kids :) So glad to see that you posted it on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Tried it tonight! It was perfect, the flavor wasn't so overpowering that the flavor of the green beans still stood out, while be accented by the garlic and cheese. I will DEF make this again. The key is DON'T OVERCOOK! I made canned beans, only cooked until hot, nowhere near 10 minutes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States