Garlic Ginger Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I Added shredded carrots and soy sauce, very tasty! Going to try adding peanut butter next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
We liked it. I only wish I knew why you cook the tofu for so long. I would think it would absorb the garlic/ginger oil imediatlly and and heat through in about ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Plain. Really, really plain. In order to not have to throw it out I made a lot of changes to the recipe. I added soy sauce, more ginger, more garlic, some sambal olek, some frozen veggies (peas & carrots is what I had on hand), some chopped up water chestnuts and then some dashes of sesame oil at the end of cooking. It wasn't amazing with my changes but at least we could eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
yum, i have made it a few time, modifying it here and there... good every time... nice and basic, lends itself to flexibility
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Best way I have made tofu! I advise salting to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasmira Kit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
My husband like this more than I. I would give it 3. Not bad, but I agree with others that it's a bit bland. I only used one 14oz. container of tofu and used the full amount of everything else. Next time I'm going to double the ginger, garlic and tamari. I also added broccoli to the pan to steam for the last 10 minutes. It's definitely worth another try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
If you are a tofu lover this easy recipe will be a staple in your house. As I did not have fresh ginger, I used powdered, and I did not have tamari so I use soy sauce. What is especially great about this recipe is you can really flavor it to taste. I added scallions, smoked paprika, and some chili sauce as I like it hot. This would be great served over noodles or rice. You could marinate the tofu in the tamari for an hour instead of cooking it for 30 min for softer tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Buel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newhall, California, USA
Living In: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, except I only used 24 oz of tofu, rather than 32. It still turned out pretty bland, and did not look nearly as seasoned as the picture shows. I ended up adding some rice I had cooked the previous day to the skillet with the tofu, and cooked some broccoli & baby corn to add to it. I also added a bit of basil, parsley, and black pepper and it turned out pretty nicely. I would make this again, but only if I cooked it the way I did this time. If it was that bland with 24 oz of tofu, I can't imagine how it would be if I used the recommended 32oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Rerally great! Left out the tamari, didn't have any. Also forgot to squirt with lime juice, and instead added soy sauce. Sauteed exra ginger and garlic for more zing. Only used 1 lb tofu, which made more than enough for a family of 4. Served over cooked rice and stir fry veggies such as green pepper, carrots, mushrooms, onions, and pineapple. I used this as the main course, with Easy Japanese Steakhouse Soup by Cooking kid for an "appetizer". Yum, yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KETHRAE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I loved it! I didn't have any tamari so I just used soy sauce. It tasted just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States