Garlic Feta Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This is the type of tzatiki that I get in resuarants. I have tried the other recipes, and even thought they are more authentic, they don't taste as good. This recipe is simply incredible. I am a garlic lover and have been in heaven for the three weeks since I discovered this recipe. I personally recommend Romainian feta, if you can find it. I get it at a cheese speciality shop, its a little creamier, and cheaper. I also add two cubes of frozen dill weed, available at most grocery stores. The first time I made this I used 8 cloves of garlic, after all I have a very high threshold. That was tooooo much, even for me, although I ate it all! I am good at four cloves. The processor seems to magnify the garlic taste, as does letting it sit overnight. I started with the "pulsing" mode in the processor, but I like the smooth texture, so now I use the "high" position. This is the perfect compliment to the "pork souvlaki" recipe on this sight (substitued with chicken breast though). I have now completed my search for the perfect chicken-souvlaki with tzatiki combo, and I don't care about authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOMOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was a great recipe, I think people are complaining because they expect tzatziki, but it's a completely different sauce. I made it as is (minus the blender)and it was delicious. I used it as a marinade for boneless, skinless chicken breasts and drumsticks for the kids. I baked the chicken and put it under the broiler for the last couple of minutes to improve the colour, it was delicious. I reserved some to use as dip with pita with the supper and topped the whole meal off with greek salad. What a meal! The kids and I finished the chicken and the dip off today with pita sandwiches, this is a keeper. I'm giving it a 5 star for it's taste, easiness and versatility!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
As a modification, I used 1 cup of sour cream instead of using the yogurt. I used Mediterranean Feta cheese that has some extra flavors and 2 cloves of garlic. I use a hand mixer instead of a blender and it is just as good. very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Excellent dish!! note: to cure the "runny" aspect. you must drain the yogurt before blending it. Just simply keep it in the container in comes in from the store, put paper towels on the top and turn it upside down. The liquid will drain on the paper towels and magic magic you don't have anything "runny". thanks for the great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This dip is amazing and addictive. I brought some to work and all my co-workers lovved it. The only thing I did different ( and I highly recomend it) was omit the salt & pepper and add lemon juice. I squeezed about 1/2 a lemon in the dip and it was fantastic. It really enhances the flavor of the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Oh my goodness, this is so good! I can't eat sour cream right now, so I used a full cup of yogurt instead of half sour cream and half yogurt. This makes it healthier but it's still creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
WOW!! I like garlic but I only used the 2 cloves as the recipe calls for and boy that is plenty. I am a Feta lover!! Can eat the stuff all by itself so that is why I made the recipe. I hate to say it but unlike most of the reviews I think next time I will use one garlic clove, I am more into the feta flavor. Very good though! This is already a favorite and I just made it today. I like it to because it's low carb and I eat it with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I took this to a family and friend gathering on the 4th of July. The young adults especially raved about this dip. I served it with pita chips. I used crumbed bleu cheese, crushed garlic from a jar, and just non-fat sour cream since the store where I was shopping had no unflavored yogurt. I just mixed with a spoon--didn't get the blender out. Very easy and very quick. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This dip is GREAT! I added the juice of 1/2 of a lemon as I saw others did. I also read about it being runny so I put slightly less yogurt in it and the consistency was fine. I also added a handful of fresh cilantro which gave it a really fresh flavor. There were a couple people taken aback by the amount of garlic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This dip was great with crackers and vegetables. I added some oregeno and parsley for a little added flavor. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States