Garlic Feta Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
The taste was good and everyone liked it (I served it with a veggie tray and white tortilla chips), but I thought it was a little too runny. I used a fat-free creamy yogurt, so maybe that was the problem. I ended up adding more feta cheese to compensate, but even so, the texture was a little too thin. UPDATE: I recently made this again using fat-free Greek yogurt, and it was great. 5 stars this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This dip was great with crackers and vegetables. I added some oregeno and parsley for a little added flavor. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
It had great flavor, but no one touched it at my party. It was way too runny & thin & didn't make a great dip. I would probably try it as a sauce to some Greek pork or chicken entrees, as recommended by some others. As far as a dip or appetizer goes, it was a flop, at least for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I used low-fat feta and was a little worried how this would turn out, but it had a nice creamy texture and made a great dip for raw vegetables. Next time I'm going up to four cloves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
i omitted the salt and pepper and used the juice of half a lemon. i chopped in lots of fresh dill, and voila: it was delicious. served with cherry tomatoes, cucumber sticks and plain ruffles. would be amazing as tzatziki too. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This dip is amazing and addictive. I brought some to work and all my co-workers lovved it. The only thing I did different ( and I highly recomend it) was omit the salt & pepper and add lemon juice. I squeezed about 1/2 a lemon in the dip and it was fantastic. It really enhances the flavor of the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This is the type of tzatiki that I get in resuarants. I have tried the other recipes, and even thought they are more authentic, they don't taste as good. This recipe is simply incredible. I am a garlic lover and have been in heaven for the three weeks since I discovered this recipe. I personally recommend Romainian feta, if you can find it. I get it at a cheese speciality shop, its a little creamier, and cheaper. I also add two cubes of frozen dill weed, available at most grocery stores. The first time I made this I used 8 cloves of garlic, after all I have a very high threshold. That was tooooo much, even for me, although I ate it all! I am good at four cloves. The processor seems to magnify the garlic taste, as does letting it sit overnight. I started with the "pulsing" mode in the processor, but I like the smooth texture, so now I use the "high" position. This is the perfect compliment to the "pork souvlaki" recipe on this sight (substitued with chicken breast though). I have now completed my search for the perfect chicken-souvlaki with tzatiki combo, and I don't care about authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOMOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
good recipe i topped it with diced red pepper, cucumber, olives, and red onion all finely diced and served with toasted pita chips also used yogurt cheese (strained yogurt) YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I took this dip to a party tonight and listened to a lot of "Whoa, there's a lot of garlic in this" comments. People ate it and enjoyed it, but I'm going to roast the garlic next time to mellow it out or use just a single clove. Easy and fast to whip up as a last minute offering to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Had to bring a last minute appie to friends, but because of snow, didn't want to venture to the grocier. All ingredients for this dip are staples in my house, so whipped it up, adding a touch of minced basil. Fabulous! Gobbled up at party, and three people asked for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States