Garlic Delicata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Garlic Delicata Squash Haiku: "Didn't cut it up. Sliced lengthwise, and left whole. Why remove the peel?" We love the peel on delicata squash, and cutting it only once lengthwise (and removing the seeds, of course) makes it easier to roast, and then you can slice what you want easily for serving. Unfortunately taste-wise, we thought 3 cloves of garlic was too much (and we LOVE garlic in everything). It's such a mild and sweet-tasting squash, that the next time we prepared it, we kept it simple w/ just the olive oil and a little salt and pepper and were much happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I followed naples34102's advice and left the peel on. I baked it at 375 deg for 25 mins cut-side down with some water. After 25 mins I drained the water, turned the squash over to cut-side up, proceeded with the recipe ingredients then baked another 5 mins. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe was not too bad. I was hoping for more flavor, despite the fact that I used 3 times as much garlic than the recipe called for (1 delicata squash, 3 cloves garlic) but I would be willing to try this recipe again if I tweaked it a little. Then again, this recipe was the first time I'd ever cooked or eaten delicata squash so maybe I'm just not a fan of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-Star

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used one unpeeled delicata squash. The skin is tender and edible when it's roasted in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
It was super yummy and I don't really like squash or pumpkins. I went with rosemary instead of parsley and used lots of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
A really great side dish. Easy to make. Because of my family's tastes I increased the garlic to 7 cloves and switched the parsley to chives. Garlic came out nice and crispy which added a crunch to the smooth texture of the squash. Saved the seeds for planting of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I had never had delicata, or most squashes for that matter, but this was pretty good and healthy. I only roasted one, but used the 3 smashed garlic cloves and salt & pepper. (We like bold flavors, some might not like it.) I was out of fresh herbs, dried parsley worked well. I will treat this like roasted potatoes and get creative with the herbs & seasonings. Thanks Syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Delicata is definitely my new favorite squash after cooking this (and this is from a non-squash lover). For our small family, I made only one squash, used 2 T of the olive oil, 3 cloves of garlic (we love garlic), a good amount of the parsley, and added sea salt and black pepper to taste. I roasted mine in a cast iron pan, stirred twice during cooking, and pulled it out when it was golden brown on the sides, which was at about 25 minutes. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
We loved it. That is my husband and me, not my teenage daughter. This was my first time having Delicata squash. My new favorite squash. I only used 1 squash and 1 garlic clove. Will be making it with 2 squashes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is sooo good and relatively easy to make! Since discovering it just a few years ago, Delicata has become a favorite "winter" squash for hubs and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States