Garlic Delicata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicata squash is so beautiful with its variegated colors that I thought it a shame to peel and slice it as the recipe directs. So I cut it in half lengthwise, then baked it cut side down in a little water in a shallow roasting pan - 375 degrees, about 25 minutes. I then drained the water and returned the squash to the pan, cut side up. I filled the cavity with melted butter I had infused with fresh, minced garlic, and freshly ground pepper, then gave it a sprinkle of paprika for color. I returned it to the oven for another 5 mintues, then sprinkled it with the fresh parsley. I served each plate with an unpeeled half and it was SO pretty! I love squash, both summer and winter varieties, but had never had delicata. Hubs, on the other hand, doesn't really care for it - until now. We found this to be similar to butternut or acorn squash, but drier, not as sweet and with somewhat nutty undertones. We both loved it and, to my surprise, hubs said he wants to go back to buy three more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Deilcata squash is about 8" long with a pretty consistent ~3-4" diameter. It is shades of white, yellow, and orange. It has grooves running down it (like a pumpkin), and there is typically green in the grooves. I got mine at a farmers market, but have also seen it at the grocery store. I DID use delicata squash for this recipe, and I found it to be very bland and boring. It tasted like squash, oil, parsley, and garlic -- which makes sense. But it wasn't in a great, "Oh, that's really simple but really good!" sort of a way. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was very nice, i used butternut squash instead of delicata, and added 1/2 tsp of dried rosemary and the same of paprika. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I used 1 butternut squash instead of the delicata. it was DEE-LISH! I almost ate the entire dish by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Fiancee loved it, I'm not too big of a fan of squash but it was better than other recipes I've had. I also couldn't find Delicata squash at the store so after reading that Delicata tastes like a butternut and a sweet potatoe combined that's what I did! I used one butternut squash and one sweet potatoe. I also mashed and whipped them at the end to blend them together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
this is SO GOOD! Used one delicata, 5 cloves of garlic and enough olive oil to coat, and I didn't have parsley but I used fresh rosemary, along with some salt and pepper. VERY tasty, I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jendavison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Delicata Squash...delicious! I sliced it in half lengthwise, scraped out the inside, sprayed with PAM, peeled 8 cloves of garlic (next time 4) put 4 cloves under each delicata half and roasted at 375 for about 45 minutes...when done took out of the skin, mashed with the garlic & added salt, pepper & butter...DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Delicious! I had never heard of delicata squash, so I just used regular yellow squash. My whole family still loved it. Thanks. I will be making this again. And if I ever run across a delicata squash I will try it with that. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Delicata is definitely my new favorite squash after cooking this (and this is from a non-squash lover). For our small family, I made only one squash, used 2 T of the olive oil, 3 cloves of garlic (we love garlic), a good amount of the parsley, and added sea salt and black pepper to taste. I roasted mine in a cast iron pan, stirred twice during cooking, and pulled it out when it was golden brown on the sides, which was at about 25 minutes. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
It was super yummy and I don't really like squash or pumpkins. I went with rosemary instead of parsley and used lots of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States