Garlic Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Awesome! Easy and cheap to make! I use EVOO instead of butter and garlic/parsley salt! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was amazing... Simple, easy, I've made garlic bread dozens of times and never considered making croutons for my salads. I didn't have any butter or french bread/rolls, so I just used whole wheat bread slices and margarine. I also used garlic powder instead and added a pinch of dried basil. Very yummy. No more buying a small box of croutons for $3-$4.... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fangtasia86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
We LOVE this recipe!!!! We have made these croutons several times and will not buy store-bought croutons again!! We did add a little Italian seasoning to give the croutons some color and extra flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
were okay, just missing something. Will try again with some other spices to jazz it up. I love garlic but it needs something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Atwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnsdall, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vera, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
yum yum yum!!!! i love croutons but have had a hard time finding a recipe that i liked where they had flavor..my search is over.besides being extremely easy to make,they are VERY good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smilie106

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Wow these were fabulous! I used french bread and regular bread to check the difference and french bread is a must to get the crunch. They were so good we kept eating then right out of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I will give this 5 stars because as written, I'm sure it will be very good. However, I only had stale sandwich bread on hand (whole wheat) and the garlic in a jar (which I don't really like) and some of the bread cubes were really soggy and even after 45, yes 45, minutes of baking (and careful watching, and turning) these pieces are still not 100% crunchy but I'm giving up because I don't want the other ones to burn. I had to douse these in sea salt, italian seasoning and fresh cracked black pepper because all the garlic burned off. I wish I had some parmesan cheese which might've made them better. They are ok, but not super. Still too sweet and bready. I wanted salty, garlicky and crunchy. Oh well. Like I said, I'm sure if I had done this recipe to the letter it would've been better! I think I might try olive oil next time. I love it, and I think it wouldn't make my bread really soggy like the butter did. I think you would get the best flavour if you sauteed the garlic and any herbs in the oil then strained it and mixed it with the bread with sea salt and fresh ground pepper. Also I think the French bread (or any crusty bread) is a must because my good old bagged sandwich bread is just too soft and smushy and soaks up the butter and stays soggy. But that's just my opinion :) Will definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Trying to cook healthy adding more salads to my familys diet and this really gives our salads a kick. That we look forward to our salads!! Easy to make and way better than store bought. I hate the ones from the store that when you pock with fork it breaks...its too crunchy. Thanks for sharing and God bless!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
great, but you can add just about anything and get fab croutons. i've heard that the reason the French think the Americans can't cook is because we buy croutons. i probably will again, but i hope not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
these are great!! and just like everybody else i will never buy store bought again!! no way you can JUST eat them on a salad......so make 2 batches (at least) so you will have some left over for your salad!! LOL thanks so much for this recipe it is superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States