Garlic Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Wow these were fabulous! I used french bread and regular bread to check the difference and french bread is a must to get the crunch. They were so good we kept eating then right out of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I will give this 5 stars because as written, I'm sure it will be very good. However, I only had stale sandwich bread on hand (whole wheat) and the garlic in a jar (which I don't really like) and some of the bread cubes were really soggy and even after 45, yes 45, minutes of baking (and careful watching, and turning) these pieces are still not 100% crunchy but I'm giving up because I don't want the other ones to burn. I had to douse these in sea salt, italian seasoning and fresh cracked black pepper because all the garlic burned off. I wish I had some parmesan cheese which might've made them better. They are ok, but not super. Still too sweet and bready. I wanted salty, garlicky and crunchy. Oh well. Like I said, I'm sure if I had done this recipe to the letter it would've been better! I think I might try olive oil next time. I love it, and I think it wouldn't make my bread really soggy like the butter did. I think you would get the best flavour if you sauteed the garlic and any herbs in the oil then strained it and mixed it with the bread with sea salt and fresh ground pepper. Also I think the French bread (or any crusty bread) is a must because my good old bagged sandwich bread is just too soft and smushy and soaks up the butter and stays soggy. But that's just my opinion :) Will definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Trying to cook healthy adding more salads to my familys diet and this really gives our salads a kick. That we look forward to our salads!! Easy to make and way better than store bought. I hate the ones from the store that when you pock with fork it breaks...its too crunchy. Thanks for sharing and God bless!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
great, but you can add just about anything and get fab croutons. i've heard that the reason the French think the Americans can't cook is because we buy croutons. i probably will again, but i hope not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
these are great!! and just like everybody else i will never buy store bought again!! no way you can JUST eat them on a salad......so make 2 batches (at least) so you will have some left over for your salad!! LOL thanks so much for this recipe it is superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Easy, very good. Add parm. cheese after baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
These were so easy to make and came out just excellent!! SO much better than store bought..I will never buy croutons from the store again..these were just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJPALOMINO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I have been baking my own croutons for years, I use 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil. In a pinch garlic powder or garlic salt will suffice as well. Key is to not over cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahbbear
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
No surprise here -- these were delicious! I didn't have any loaf bread so I just used Sara Lee's wheat sandwich bread. It's just me and my husband and so we didn't need much. I used 3 slices of bread and melted 1 tablespoon of butter in the microwave with garlic powder, a dash of pepper, and some dry parsley flakes for looks. I baked for 20 minutes, flipping halfway through bake time. I threw them in a ziploc bag and tossed with parmesan cheese. They're tasty and beautiful addition to any salad...never going to store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
these croutons are definitely 5 star as written, as many have already said. however in my eternal effort to cut fat/calories, i've found that spraying them liberally with PAM or butter flavored cooking spray is a pretty great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States