Garlic Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent,Changed the process alittle,I cut the bread then dried it out in oven to crispen bread (absorbs more liquid and dos"nt soak bread)then took out to toss in bowl after pouring ,heating butter,shaker parmesan,and a pinch of garlic powder to taste,then toasted to med brown ,remove and repeated till desired crispiness.( last step shred some freshly grated parm as they come out of oven... Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I normally do not like croutons, but these were great! I had unexpected dinner guests and needed croutons for my caesar salad... these were quick, easy and delicious. I used whatever bread I had on hand. I will now be making croutons for my salads! And this sure beats buying a box and having them go stale in my pantry!!!!! :) Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These were so easy to make, and delicious too! I will never buy croutons again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckgurly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Sprinkle with parmesan, dried parsley and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
These are really good! My father-in-law always makes croutons, but they're never any good. I'm pretty sure with this recipe I don't have to worry about that anymore! I changed it up just a tad, though. I didn't have stale bread on hand so I used some regular sourdough bread, which I don't think affected it since it's still delicious and very crouton-y. And I used olive oil instead of the butter because I wanted it to be a bit healthier. It's a really good recipe! Definitely using it more in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
These were great. I had about 1/2 loaf of bread from the crusty french bread recipe and I used this recipe for it. Instead of cubing the bread I just sliced it in about 1/4" or a tad smaller slices. I followed the butter and garlic method, but then added a sprinkle of dried parsley and basil to the croutons before baking. I made these to top soup, and they were just what I was looking for. I would like to try olive oil, to cut back the saturated fat of butter, and maybe even try some with a sprinkling of parmesan cheese next time. However, taste wise and appearance they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Yum-mo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I used good quality oil oil, fresh garlic and pumpernickel, light rye and sourdough bread and added some oregano. They are good for at least a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Awesome! Easy and cheap to make! I use EVOO instead of butter and garlic/parsley salt! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was amazing... Simple, easy, I've made garlic bread dozens of times and never considered making croutons for my salads. I didn't have any butter or french bread/rolls, so I just used whole wheat bread slices and margarine. I also used garlic powder instead and added a pinch of dried basil. Very yummy. No more buying a small box of croutons for $3-$4.... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fangtasia86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Peel a Pile of Garlic in 20 Seconds

Discover the ultimate garlic-peeling trick.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States