Garlic Creamed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and it was so yummy! I used cream of chicken and mushroom soup, fat free sour cream, 1/3 less fat cream cheese, and served it over egg noodles. For some reason, I started reading the reviews AFTER it was already in the oven and was worried that maybe I should have added some broth to thin it out but when it was done, I mixed it up and the fat from the chicken thinned it out perfectly! I also mixed frozen broccoli in with sauce before cooking, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcePrdcr3
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I just tried this recipe based on everyone's "rave" reviews. I would/could eat it again, but it was not my favorite. The combination of the cream cheese & sour cream gave it a saltiness that's not just "sprinkle salt" saltiness. (Hope that makes sense.) Also, I think in my mind, I was holding up an Alfredo-type sauce taste. Were I to make it again, I might use even less cream cheese and add a bit of broth to think it out. I did add a green pepper & two sprigs of green onions. Thanks for the idea, though. I've been excited about trying it all week. (And it is pretty and smells great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made a few minor changes. I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I browned it a little in a skillet with 1/3 cup of butter. Washed and sliced some fresh mushrooms and once I removed the chicken breasts to the baking dish I cooked the mushrooms in the butter in the same skillet. I then poured 2 cans of mushroom soup, the sour cream and about 1 cup to 1 1/4 milk instead of adding cream cheese. Poured that over the chicken and baked. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This came out great! It took me a little longer to prepare it because I didn't use mushrooms; instead I used cream of chicken soup. I added broccoli (which I chopped into tiny pieces), then I crushed the garlic by hand with a garlic press. I also added carrots. I thought it came out great over pasta :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I did 'brown' the chicken before hand in olive oil with garlic powder and parsley. I tossed a touch of white wine in the sauce. Result was still pretty thick, and looked an awful lot like paste, but reading the reviews, I expected it to thin during cooking. It didn't. Served over noodles for the kids / biscuits for us. Final result was pretty bad...not only in aesthetic, but taste as well. We ate it, but only because we had to. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I'm not a huge chicken fan at all, but I quite liked this recipe. But the family loved it. Only things I did differently were: browned the chicken in a bit of olive oil before slicing it up, doubled the garlic, grated a bit of parmesan cheese overtop of the chicken before pouring the sauce on, and then baked covered for 30 minutes, and then uncovered for 30 minutes. The sauce was a perfect consistency! The garlic smell was a bit strong, but it tasted great. The colour was a bit bland (read: colour only), so may try putting a few veggies like peas or carrots in next time. But it was super easy and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Really easy. I used cream of chicken instead of the mushroom because that is what I had on hand. I also sauted the chicken in garlic and olive oil before putting it in the baking pan. We served it with radiatore pasta. My family ate it up! So simple and really yummy for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I read other people's reviews before cooking this and made the following adjustments: I cut chicken into small pieces and browned in butter with garlic, salt and pepper. I mixed in carrots and corn and one can each of Cream of Chicken and Cream of Celery along with the sour cream and cream cheese. I mixed it all up and baked it till it was bubbly. We then poured it over rice...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Used cream of asparagus soup and added some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
My wife absolutely loved this recipe. A nice change of pace for the chicken we've been eating lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States