Garlic Creamed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is a great basic recipe for a creamy flavorful sauce. I used cream of chicken soup and 1 1/4 pounds of meat. I cubed the chicken and browned in an electric skillet with salt,pepper,garlic powder & poultry seasonings. Then I added 1 cup chicken broth & covered and simmered for about 45 minutes until chicken was tender. I followed the recipe for the sauce, pretty much. I used garlic juice to equal 4 cloves and cut it all with a little milk. The sauce is really thick. I then added it to the meat mixture and let warm for about 10-15 minutes. To all this I added about 3 cups cooked wide egg noodles. Stir & serve. Wonderful!! I think next time I'll try cheddar/broccoli soup, but it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I BROWNED THE CHICKEN IN SKILLET BEFORE BAKING. I SERVED OVER SPAGETTI WHICH WAS TOSSED WITH BROCOLI AND OLIVE OIL. NEXT TIME I WILL THIN THE SAUCE WITH MILK BEFORE BAKING. IT WAS TOO THICK OVER THE PASTA. I WILL PROBABLY ADD SLICED MUSHROOMS TO THE SAUCE AS WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
My husband and 9 year old daughter really liked. It was to rich for my tastes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
My family enjoyed this recipe. I did substitute cream of potato soup as my husband doesn't mike mushroom but otherwise I kept it the same. I served it over egg noodles. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This had a good flavor, but the sauce was really thick, even after adding some chicken broth. However, I mistkenly used a whole package of cream cheese - which was way to much. I took the advise of others and browned the chicken first -in some chicken broth - it also saved time because I used frozen chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Misner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Wonderfully easy dinner. I'd use just one garlic clove next time though. But really tasty. Even my kdis loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Good with some adjustments from previous reviewer who precooked the chicken half way then put it all in a skillet. Really good with broccoli added too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I used light everything to make the cream a little less fattening, but this was way over the top for me. The cream was still extremely rich! I think I will just stick with cream of mush w/garlic soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My family liked this. I carmelized the garlic with some onions and added them to to cream cheese mixture. Next time I may add a little chicken broth or milk to stretch out the sauce.I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I have a funny story about this recipe...I found it on my very first visit to allrecipes.com a few years ago when I first got married and was trying to learn to cook. I "scaled down" the number of servings from 9 to 4...very handy tool, I might add. When this recipe is scaled down to make 4 servings, it says to add 7/8 of a clove of garlic. Well, I misunderstood that and added 7 or eight cloves of garlic to the dish. I love a lot of garlic, so I didn't mind it, but my poor hubby had to try to choke it down not to hurt my feelings! I ended up throwing out the plastic container I'd stored the leftovers in because I couldn't get the garlic smell out of it. I have made the dish since and we love it...now I put 2 whole cloves in for 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States