Garlic Crab Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2000
Great easy recipe, but garlic mushroom soup not easy to find. Use mushroom soup and add some freshly crushed garlic instead. I've substituted 8 ounces cream cheese for the mayonnaise and baked the dip in a hollowed out loaf of bread for a self contained hors d'oeuvre. What a hit! The hint to double the recipe right away is sooooo right! It went so fast I didn't get any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
You have got to make this dip!! I used Lipton garlic and herb soup mix because I couldn't find the one referenced in the recipe. This dish takes just minutes to prepare, and tastes absolutely wonderful. Try it!!! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
This dip is awesome! I had so many complements. I followed the advice of another reviewer and substitued light cream cheese for the mayonaise. I also used onion-mushroom soup instead of the garlic mushroom, and it turned out just fine. Seemed to be a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
Made this wonderful appetizer for Xmas Eve. It was gone within minutes. Planning on taking it tonight to bring in the new year. This time, however, I'm doubling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
This was a really quick and easy recipe! I added soome cayenne pepper and some black pepper (and some celery salt) to kick it up a notch! It was a big hit. I'll definitely have to double the recipe the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I thought the soup was too over powering for the dish, extremely rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
My daughter and I were anxious to try this dip hoping to duplicate what has become one of our family's faves at restaurants for an appetizer. Unfortunately, we listened to other reviewers and used the Onion/Mushroom Soup Mix since we couldn't find the Garlic Mushroom Soup Mix. What you get is a VERY strong dry onion soup mix flavor with a touch of artichoke dip instead of what I assume should be a "garlic crab artichoke dip" flavor. I gave this recipe 5 stars since it was my fault not being able to follow the recipe as given. I will not try this recipe again until I can find the Garlic Mushroom Soup Mix. Yes, my family ate this but I ended up throwing 75% of it away. I will keep my eyes out for the right soup mix and you should too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I added a second can of crab because one can seems overpowered by the soup mix. Very tasty dip even with one can of crab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I cannot begin to say enough about this recipe! It takes all of 5 minutes to prepare and toss in the oven so I didn't have to stay in the kitchen as my guests were arriving. Everyone was complimenting the dish. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
wish i would have followed what other reviews had stated before dumping a whole packet of the soup mix in! it WOULD have been MUCH better with only HALF of the soup mix called for. but it just took over the dish and thats all we could taste. hubby ate it, agreed it was overpowering, but it just made me feel sick after a couple bites. the amount of crab called for is way too little, also. it got lost in the rest of the ingredients and tasted nothing like a crab dip to us. to salvage what would have been quite a waste of ingredients (half the dish was left since hubby was hungry and didn't want to wait for dinner), the following day i re-added full amounts of all ingredients WITHOUT any more soup mix to the half that was leftover, and also added in a little bit of cayenne pepper for a kick along with a pinch or two of onion powder. it reheated very well and was actually edible without the horrible overpowering flavor of too much soup mix. the recipe would have been more like a 4.5 star, but i highly recommend using ONLY 1/2 the amount of soup mix (maybe even a little less) and adding in a second can of crab meat and a bit of pepper & onion powder. written as is, this needs some work and tweaking, but i'm glad i modified and salvaged the half that was leftover from what wasn't the greatest. after confirmation the second round of making this & fixing it was much better, i would make it again using the adjustments & modifications. overall, it was ok, just needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States