Garlic Crab Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This dip is wonderful. Instead of using the garlic/mushroom soup (which noone can seem to find) I used Lipton Recipe Secrets Savory Herb with Garlic which flavored it perfectly. I also substituted 2 cans of chicken breast shredded for the crab. Added several good shakes of Tobassco and extra time in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Honestly, this dip had no flavor. I used cream of mushroom w/roasted garlic soup and cream cheese instead of mayo. First of all, if you use cream cheese, make sure you thaw it out before you mix all the ingredients-otherwise, there are pockets of cream cheese. After cooking for 30 minutes, most of the dip was not even warm. I cooked it longer, then had to confer with my husband to see how to make it better-tasting. We added a generous amount of garlic powder and cayenne. And then extra cayenne and some black pepper. Finally, it was edible and we ate it with pita chips. Just as good reheated the next day. But I was really disappointed with the original outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good and easy to manipulate a bit. I used cream of chicken soup since I forgot to buy the mix, and just added some garlic powder and onion flakes. It was very good and was eaten right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made this two different times/ways. The 1st way I used mayo as called for...it was SO greasy! The dip was literally floating on top of a layer of grease. I scooped it out and served it in a seperate dish and everyone still liked it but I still found it runny. The 2nd time I substituted regular cream cheese for mayo and it came out a thousand times better. I could not find garlic & mushroom soup either time, I used Lipton Onion soup mix - half pouch each time. Will be making this again - but not with mayo! I also sprinkled shredded Swiss on top in the last 5 mins of baking & it was perfectly melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Mess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was delicious!! I couldn't find the garlic and mushroom soup anywhere! So I used onion and mushroom..Im sure it didn't make much of a difference because it tasted wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
My daughter and I were anxious to try this dip hoping to duplicate what has become one of our family's faves at restaurants for an appetizer. Unfortunately, we listened to other reviewers and used the Onion/Mushroom Soup Mix since we couldn't find the Garlic Mushroom Soup Mix. What you get is a VERY strong dry onion soup mix flavor with a touch of artichoke dip instead of what I assume should be a "garlic crab artichoke dip" flavor. I gave this recipe 5 stars since it was my fault not being able to follow the recipe as given. I will not try this recipe again until I can find the Garlic Mushroom Soup Mix. Yes, my family ate this but I ended up throwing 75% of it away. I will keep my eyes out for the right soup mix and you should too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this dip for Valentine's day. It was great! I did make a few changes, however. Because I couldn't find the Garlic & Mushroom soup mix, I just used minced garlic and canned mushrooms, and chopped them up in a food processor. I also used the food processor to chop up the artichokes. Next time, I will try doubling the crab meat, because I think this recipe didn't have quite enough of it. But it was still very, very delicious! Better than the Crab & Artichoke dip they serve at the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
just like the resturants make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulue_b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Just the recipe I have been looking for. I also go to Skates by the water in the Bay area for this dip. And now I finnaly found the recipe. Good looking out. Now I can get more for my money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made this for a get together and it was almost gone before I even got a chance to taste it. Everyone raved about it. I wouldn't change anything in this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States