Garlic Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I've been making this for years (not from this recipe) and I must say, it's a must have for my family! A few suggestions, garlic powder does not do it justice! I use the sweet corn and shuck it, then I put it on the foil (individually) and spray it down really well with spray butter (that way it is evenly distributed.) Then I take roasted minced garlic and spread it out all over the corn (not too much, about a 1/2 tsp or so, I guess) and then I add some salt and pepper, wrap it up tight and grill it. It's AWESOME! Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
My family and friends can't get enough of this great stuff! The one thing you should change to make it better is minced garlic instead of the powder. I actually do salt & pepper to taste along with the garlic and butter. Sometimes to save on calories I even use the spray butter. It's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I took one stick of butter (at room temperature) and added some minced garlic to it. Then spooned a heaping tablespoon of butter on each piece of corn, smearing it so it covers the ear of corn completely. Wrapped each piece of corn in foil, and placed on the grill for approximately 30-40 minutes. (carcoal grill). No need for additional butter was needed. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I THOUGHT THIS WAS GOOD BUT I CHANGED IT A BIT..I DID THE CORN IN THE MICROWAVE(WRAP IN A DAMP PAPER TOWEL AND MICRO 3 TO 4 MINUTES) AND TO SAVE CALORIES AND FAT I USED BUTTER BUDS INSTEAD OF REAL BUTTER...I MIXED THE BUTTER BUDS AND GARLIC POWDER IN A BOWL AND ROLLED THE CORN IN IT...QUICK AND EASY..YOU HAVE TO LOVE THAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I'm only giving this 4 stars because I think it tastes SO much better by using fresh garlic than the powder. For 12 ears of corn I used about 4 garlic cloves. Delicous! Last night I tried it the way the recipe calls for garlic powder and it was definitely not as good. I also found that the garlic powder seemed to "dry out" the corn much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Nothing signals the start of summer like grilled corn on the cob at a BBQ! I did mine a little differently though - I left the corn in the husks vs. using foil. I peeled the husks back a bit to remove a little of the silk, put it back then left them soak in cold water for 30 minutes. I put the corn in husks on the grill for 30 minutes rotating it around the coals. The corn cooks by steaming inside the husks. I made my own garlic butter for these and all that was left to do was sprinkle with a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I put the corn right on the grill for the grill marks and a little caramelizing... gotta embrace the sugar in the corn!! (I parboiled the corn the day before - helped with timing it up with the meat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I par-boiled my corn in sugar water and then grilled it. I too used fresh garlic and then made a garlic butter sauce for brushing after they were off the heat. Very good and thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
GREAT! Like others, I only give this recipe 4 stars because it truly is better with fresh garlic. The garlic taste might seem odd at first coupled with corn but I promise that by your first ear, you'll be craving more! Love that the author included oven instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Very good. It was enjoyed by all. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States