Garlic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I've made this 8 times now. The first 7 times, I skipped the Parmesan, thinking it would not make that much of a difference. Boy, was I wrong! Last night I added the Parmesan, and it took this dish from good to excellent. Don't skip the Parmesan! I also use butter instead of olive oil; it gives the dish a richer taste. This is a wonderful recipe for everyday or company, and the best part is you always have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1560 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Applauds to Carol.The BEST chicken breast ever. I am not a enthusiastic chicken lover and I find it difficult to find a good moist chicken breast recipe with flavor. The recipe calls for 2 tsp.of garlic crushed(not 2 cloves).This could be why everyone says to double up on garlic because they are counting cloves instead of teaspoons of garlic. I used 7 BIG cloves of garlic and upped the oil 1/4c and bread crumbs, Cheese combo 1/4c for 6 breast. Baked for 30 min. Per--fect. This is not fried/baked chicken. This is a Exquisite dish and the aroma is Heavenly. IF there are left over,place on a salad for a nice lunch. Encore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1011 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
We've made basically the same recipe for years using low or no-fat italian dressing instead of the olive oil. Just as tasty and a LOT less fat. No real recipe required - just dip chicken in dressing then dredge in a mixture of equal parts crumbs and parmesan, seasoned with additional garlic and herbs if you'd like. To me, this was just much too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
777 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
All I can say about this chicken is OH-MY-GAWD! It is so delicious and so easy! Don't make any changes to this recipe, it's perfect as it is. I followed the alfredo sauce recipe on this site and made fettucine alfredo to go with this chicken. My husband took one bite of the chicken and said "why do we ever eat out!?" You must try this recipe! It's a keeper! The absolute best thing is how easy it is to make such a tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This recipe was super easy. The chicken has a very nice garlic smell while cooking. The taste is mild and not over powering. If you are looking for a strong garlic taste this is not it. However, since I was cooking for a one year old and a picky husband the taste was perfect. The recipe is super fast, taking only a few minutes to warm the oil and roll the chicken in the coating. The only thing I did wrong was using chicken breast tenders rather than chicken breasts. I don't recommend this. You have to decrease the cooking time to prevent the chicken from drying out and the coating does not get crispy. The chicken was just starting to get crispy when I had to remove it from the oven. I think it would have been even better if I had been able to cook it at least another 15 minutes. I will make it again using whole chicken breasts in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Pretty yummy! Very easy. The chicken was tender and had a nice flavor. I asked my husband if it was a keeper and he said "Oh yeah!" The only thing is I bought the real parmesan cheese still in shredded form and couldn't figure how the cheese and bread crumbs were going to stick to the chicken! My husband said,"I think you're supposed to use the powdered stuff in the green can." Oopps. That makes sense. Make sure you start off with the stuff in the green can. You know that stuff you put on spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
For those who prefer a stronger garlic flavour instead of olive oil substitute garlic oil or make your own by adding 2 Tbs chopped garlic to 1 cup olive or canola oil,let stand for 24 hrs in fridge and use within a week. Add GRANULATED garlic powder to the crumb mixture, use Romano cheese instead of Parmesan for a more distinct flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
pounded the chicken breasts so they would be more tender, also added lots more garlic, used italian seasoned bread crumbs, and needed almost two times the amount of crumbs anc cheese asked for. overall, very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
This was a very good and easy recipe. I had been making something similar but cooking the chicken in a covered skillet. The oven-method is much cleaner! I used Italian bread crumbs and sprinkled fresh parmesan on the top of the breasts. In the future I'll add the parmesan at the end as the cheese got a little crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
WOW! Delicious with little effort! I changed this: I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs because they are RELIABLY more moist then breasts (always trim off any extra fat with kitchen sheers). I ran the garlic and olive oil through my mini-blender so it was like a smooth garlic emulsion oil (I did warm the oil in the microwave as suggested). I tossed 1/2 the chicken into a ziplock, poured in the garlic oil....tossed in the other half of the chicken and closed the bag. I hand squished the garlic oil all throughout the chicken by kneading the bag. That saves the messy step of hand dipping each piece into the oil and then into the crumbs. I used Italian bread crumbs with the grated cheese and coated the pieces as suggested. It was excellent!!. It really was very easy, tasty and light!! Baked 400° for 23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic Chicken

This easy, tasty dish is perfect for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States