Garlic Chicken with Orzo Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by CharB26350
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a great recipe as is and modifying it also. I think next time I will add the spinach before the orzo though. And the time after that, I will add some chicken stock, double the pepper flakes & garlic (we like spicy) and steam some broccoli and/or asparagus. Any veggie will do! Thank so much, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is a favorite for our entire family, including two toddlers. It also lends itself very easily to modifications depending on tastes. Our favorite way to do it is to cook the orzo in low sodium chicken broth, we use leftover chicken which we previously seasoned and smoked so we don't add any salt, and we substitute 2 cups of frozen mixed vegetables for the spinach. It is an EASY, FAST weeknight dinner that everyone loves and gets our kids to eat their veggies. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4Bs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this two nights ago for dinner. I want to say I made it exactly as written but I would be lying. I followed the reviewers suggestions and added a can of diced tomatoes (along with the fresh spinach - this mom does what ever it takes to get her kids to eat their veggies!) and cooked the orzo in 2 cans of low sodium chicken broth, which I didn't drain because the orzo sucked all the broth right up. I also only had whole wheat orzo so that is what I used. I finished up the recipe as directed. The results? A very flavorful and deliciously healthy recipe that my entire family loved. My husband surprised me the most, he loved it and requested we have it again soon and he is not into healthy foods at all. I will probably continue to make it with those modifications because my family enjoys it and that is all I can ask! A really great base recipe though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by animeflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Tastes great with or without the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylinLM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious and nutritious, all while tasting like good old fashioned comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe is pretty good. It's simple to make and tastes fine. My main objection is that it isn't particularly flavorful. It needs a little more than just garlic for flavoring to really make it good; the recipe is a little bland as-is. Next time, I'm going to try marinading the chicken in Italian dressing and tossing a bullion cube in with the orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Such a refreshing take on dinner. I'm going to add onions next time. I love onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manda929

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My husband said this is spectacular! I added tons of garlic, but otherwise pretty much the same as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
It was really good. I am rating it a 4 because I cooked the orzo in chicken broth and there was too much garlic and red pepper flakes. Also, my boyfriend thought something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Okay, not bland, but not exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States