Garlic Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by cbginger
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
We love Chinese and while I'm sure this recipe is great as is...I did tweak it a little. I made 1 1/2 times the sauce ingredients. I used broccoli, cashews, and water chestnuts in place of cabbage and peas.. I used all the green onions and one large yellow onion. It is definately a "keeper" as we dub all good recipes we would like to have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altheimer, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA
Photo by sumtuck
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
FABULOUS! Definitely hit the spot and reminded me the chicken stir fry I order at the local chinese restaurant. I didn't have fresh garlic or ginger, only ground but it worked great. I used bell pepper, broccoli, squash, onions, and carrots as the veggies. The sauce is perfect! It didn't look like much when I first mixed it but glad I didn't double it - it was the perfect amount. The only part that was unclear on the instructions to me is how long to let the veggies and chicken simmer in the broth. Mine was probably around 10 or so minutes before the vegetables were the perfect texture. Loved this meal and will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Fairly good. I felt it could use a little more 'zing'. All ingredients on-hand, which is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Quite tasty, but found it a little bit too sweet. I would use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Simple and delicious! I substituted broccoli instead of cabbage and it turned about great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
was very yummy the family enjoyed it i will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This was very good. I used about 4 cloves of garlic and it was fine... Also, used whatever veggies I had on hand. I think that is what is great about this recipe is that your can adapte to what meat/veggies you have. The sauce was tasty without being salty or heavy! I doubled the sauce and didn't need to. Next time I wont. Served over white rice. Nice healthy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made this for myself and two teenage boys and we really enjoyed it! I followed the recipe closely, making a few changes based on what I had in the house. I didn't have any peanut oil so I substituted canola oil with a splash of sesame oil. I also used a bag of frozen stir fry veggies along with the fresh green onions. Served over rice and it was great - nothing left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Awesome dish! Very flavorful and wound up feeding 6 people (5 adults and a 3 yr old) with enough leftover for 2 lunches! and while I was worried about all the garlic, it works out perfectly. Three changes due to what we had in the house and the number of people coming over: I used 2 bell peppers (1 red and 1 orange) and half a bag of broccoli slaw instead of the cabbage and peas and sesame seed oil as we didn't have peanut oil. Served over brown rice. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
When I make this the sauce is the most consistent thing I follow. I do add a little honey in the skillet when it's almost ready to serve instead of sugar in the cornstarch mix. Vegetables I use are generally what I have on hand. I don't use cabbage or sugar snap peas when cooking for my husband. When cooking for friends who like them - I add peas and cabbage. Sometimes I have this on rice, sometimes on chow mien noodles, sometimes all by itself (avoiding starch calorie load). Of the chicken things I make, this is one of the better picks that works for my picky husband who is not such a fan of vegetables. My husband wants more sauce – so I will make a note to help me remember - more sauce, cause so far I haven’t’ remembered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States