Garlic Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made this recipe twice. To the "t", the dish is slightly bland, lacking flavor, and the vegetables get mushy. However, with a few changes the second time, it comes out very delicious. I added more spices for one thing, double just about all of them as well as adding about 2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. Also, i fully cooked the chicken before adding the vegetables. I left out peas and a few other veggies, just using broccoli, bell pepper, and onions. I also added more spices to the sauce for extra flavor. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I love this recipe! I used a yellow pepper, broccoli, green beans, mushrooms, and shredded carrots for the stir fry. I didn't alter it aside from choosing my veggies, I really liked not having to use a pre-made sauce for the stir fry. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsully

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
One of my favorites with suggestions made by others (double the sauce, half white and half brown sugars, half the corn starch, be flexible with the vegetables, two additional cloves of garlic) and my own. My sixteen year old son devoured it and said it tasted like I bought it at a restaurant. A number of reviewers complain about it being too bland. I found the same and added half tablespoon of hoisin sauce. That's what put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Nice recipe. This dish is super sweet. Way too sweet for our palate. Maybe next time I'd use just a quarter of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I had high hopes but it was just ok... It was edible because of the veggies and chicken but the flavor of the sauce was so bland... I don't think I used enough garlic because I went with the jar stuff. Oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is a great stir fry recipe! I made it for me & my boyfriend last night, and we both loved it. It tasted like real Chinese take-out, only healthier and none of the chicken was sketchy. I followed this recipe pretty much exactly, with only a few small changes: used sesame oil instead of peanut oil, added about half the onion, subbed broccoli for the cabbage, added sliced carrots, and only used 1 Tbsp of sugar in the sauce. It came out perfect - the sauce was delicious, and there was just the right amount of it. Served over brown rice. I will make this again and again, trying different veggies and maybe even pork or tofu sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Perlman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was by far the best stir fry ever! I added broccoli and celery, and didn't use cabbage. You could use anything you want though. I thought the onions would be too much, but they aren't. I would probably double the green onions and ginger next time. I also doubled the sauce. Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Family liked it, but I agree with another reviewer: the sauce is WAY too thick! I cut down the cornstarch to 1.5 tbsp., increased chicken broth to 1.5 cups. Good served over rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Thank you for posting this recipe. I followed it exactly- with the exception of doubling the sauce ingredients (only because we like extra sauce)and adding fresh chunks of pineapple. It was delicious! We cleaned our plates! I will be making this one for company- everything was so fresh and tasty. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Its great, easy and I used alot of substitutions which still kept it excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States