Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
My chicken didn't turn out well the first time I attempted to use the recipe as posted. I used chicken drumsticks, not breasts, and it took forever the inside of the chicken to cook while the outside coating became rubbery. So having been raised a good portion of my childhood in Kentucky I remembered that mamy people boiled the chicken first (not all the way cooked) before coating and frying. This allows for way less cooking time in the skillet and the for the coating to be crispy, not chewy. Also, a good way to get rid of that blood that comes from the bone while frying (if not using the boil method)...soak the chicken in ice and water with salt for about half an hour before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
755 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I am Southern and I can fry some chicken, but this impressed me. I usually fry with just flour, salt and pepper, but I added the spices and the egg mixture. It was good. I didn't measure anything out, just threw the spices in. I added alot more garlic, I love it, and of course more salt amd pepper. I salted and peppered the chicken and the egg mixture. You cannot fry chicken in 15 minutes. I cooked on high for 5, then flipping, on medium, with lid on for 20. Nice and crispy. Served with baked potato and corn. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
627 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Want the most tender, moist fried chicken? Try marinating the chicken for at least 4 hours (if not all day) in buttermilk. Out of this world - great to use buttermilk when soaking raw onions for onion rings too. In order to cut down on the actual frying time, I generally brown my chicken and then place it on a broiler rack and bake it for 45 minutes in a 375 oven. The broiler rack allows alot of the fat to drip off. Line the bottom with foil and spray the rack with Pam before placing chicken pieces on top, clean up is a breeze. I too like a bit of dill in my chicken coating and I use ordinary flour instead of bread crumbs. I also add a generous portion of Lawry's salt, but you can also use Lemon Pepper if you are watching your salt intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
565 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Just a quick note: This is my recipe and my original recipe called for tablespoons of garlic pwdr and AR edited it to teaspoons. I had mentioned this in an earlier review but the review was deleted ): Also, granulated garlic really brings out that garliky flavor! but, 'tis all to taste---play with it and see what works best for you! ~Tan~ PS Also wanted to say that I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs for the seasoned bread crumbs. This also makes really good chicken for Chicken Parmesan, which I do often. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Two words... OVEN FRY! Why not try to make this healthier and cut out some of the fat/cholesterol but not loose the wonderful fried taste. I soaked the chicken breasts in buttermilk for 2 hours and then I floured them, egged them and used the breadcrumb mixture last. I sprayed Pam on the breasts and I oven fried my chicken at 400 for about 25 minutes ( I hade 2 chicken breasts that were pounded thin) I cut mine into small pieces AFTER they were cooked and added it to a large garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I read this recipe's notation from the original submitter who added on 5/31/05 that the recipe was supposed to be in tablespoons, and not teaspoons for the garlic. I cooked it using TBL. and it was great. It was so flavorful and very crispy on the outside. I used cube steaks because I love chicken fried steak and it was way better than restaurant quality. Make sure to use up that leftover dry mix for the gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
De-freaking-licious! I am normally AGAINST frying any of my food, but had to try this one after everyone at The Quality Cook raved about it. I used lots of garlic, doubled the paprika and used Panko crumbs as opposed to regular breadcrumbs. Also, I seperated the flour from the Panko mixture (and seasoned both) then dredged the chicken in the flour, followed by the egg and finally the Panko crumbs. I lost very little - if any - of the breading during the frying process (a miracle from my perspective). Loved it - thanks much Tan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
My family LOVES this. I use chicken breast tenders instead of breasts and serve it with a ranch dressing for dipping. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Ok, I changed this one up a bit. Like other reviewers, I upped the garlic powder. I upped the seasoned bread crumbs, omitting the flour and popped this in the oven and baked it. I have low tolerance for frying foods and I love that I don't have to mind the oven during cooking. Also, I used Italian bread crumbs, added some shredded Parmesan cheese, omitted the paprika but added Italian spices and had Italian tasting chicken another night. Thanks for the post :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I made these cutlets for my chicken parm and I'm happy to say that my gang and I thought they were absolutely delicious. So flavorful, moist and tender to boot. Just as a note, for the reviewer who used bone in dark meat (wings and thighs) dark meat takes much longer to cook than boneless chicken breasts. Thanks so much Tancal29, we'll certainly be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States