Garlic Chicken Fried Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Okay I know I didn't follow the directions that well so I assume it's my fault that I'm not super impressed with this recipe. Also I'm really not much of a fried rice fan. I just happened to see this as the daily dish and thought hmmm sounds good and I have chicken in the fridge. With that said, this is what I did which I would say refrain from.... I didn't have any cooked rice on hand so I did make some (brown) from scratch. I then cooled the rice off before using. I did not have a bell pepper so I didn't use. Instead I used green onion, yellow onion and carrots. I chopped all. But I think the biggest mistake was using canned peas. For this step, please follow the actual recipe. I guarantee it will turn out much better than mine. Another mistake was using Tamari soy sauce rather than light. I think that tamari is even lighter than light soy. I also did add an egg, which I can't even taste. On a positive I added ginger as did some other reviewers and I think that it added a nice flavor. Once again I'm not normally a fried rice eater, so I'll have to see what my husband says when he gets home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirielcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flossmoor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Can't wait to try this recipe. Seems easy enough with ingredients one usually has on hand. As to the reviewer that will not try it due to plate presentation, my feeling is plate presentation is synonymous with "going away" hungry. My pets will be quite happy to see what's on my plate since they will probably get to eat some of it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Really, really good. I used frozen mixed vegetables instead of frozen peas and jasmine rice instead of brown. Everyone in my house was very happy with dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This recipe was easy and delicious. I especially liked that brown rice was used instead of white. So much healthier. My husband commented how much he enjoyed it several times during the meal. By the way, for the other reviewer that was concerned about the plate presentation, we are rating the taste of the food, not what it is served on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Very yummy! The chopping is a pain but other than that it is quick and easy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavedByGrace
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Delicious! 4 stars as written, 5 with the following changes: replace veggie oil with sesame oil, add 1/2 tsp of powdered ginger, and I marinated the chicken for two days in a marinade of soy sauce, sesame oil, garlic, and ginger which gave it excellent flavor! I also added egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I had leftover grilled chicken so I wasn't able to follow this recipe exactly but it was still really good and would have been as written. I did jazz it up a little after it was cooked and on our plates by adding some bean sprouts and cilantro. This is a great standard recipe that could be changed up according to what you have on hand. I am definitely keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
We all loved this! The only change I made wasn't a major change - I used frozen broccoli instead of peas because my husband hates peas - it was so tasty and filling! Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was good as written. Which is how I made it the first time. I have made it 2 more times since then and now I make the following changes. I use sesame oil instead of vegetable oil. I added sliced fresh carrots, I cooked boiled the carrots for 3 minutes, added frozen peas to carrot water just before draining. Drained them both immediately and then added them to the wok just before serving. I served with a sesame tilapia and it was an awesome taste sensation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
First time eating brown rice. I used instant brown rice and tasted it plain and didn't really care for it, but in this fried rice it was delicious. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States