Garlic Chicken Fried Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I liked this recipe even though I altered it AND messed it up. First, I wanted to make 5 servings so that it would last me more throughout the week but instead of 5 cups of cooked rice I had 5 cups of UNCOOKED rice....I had so much rice at the end that, even though it was still delicious, some of the ingredients and flavoring got a little lost. I'm rating this 4 stars because I feel like the recipe "as is" is very lacking in veggies. Besides increasing the number of servings to 5, I also altered the recipe by adding the following ingredients: red pepper flakes, powdered ginger, chopped asparagus, and sun dried tomatoes. Instead of frozen peas, next time I will use a bag of frozen mixed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Bowler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe! Family loved it. Its very simple I cooked it and I'm only 13. The only suggestion I have is that if you r used to chinese food version use more soy sauce. :) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micah King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I loved it and so did picky daughter. Didn't have vinegar and it was still very good. Will be a staple recipe. I did add black pepper and used half of a red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I liked it, but it would be better with corn, and carrots on top of all of the ingredients. Needs more flavor, next time I will use sesame oil and ginger. Also, my family likes to crumble up cooked bacon and mix it in fried rice, will add all of those things next time and I added clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Simple and quick multiple food groups. Could use an egg, but is quite appetizing as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Delicious! I added 2 eggs to it and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Really good basic recipe, I switched out chicken for tofu and added carrots and corn... Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This recipe was an excellent variation of fried rice using brown rice. I left out the rice wine vinegar as I already knew I don't care for it in fried rice, I also added a tablespoon of sesame oil in substitution for 1 T. of the vegetable oil (I used sunflower oil for health benefits)...the sesame oil makes this taste more like a restaurant-style fried rice. Easily customizable, I only took one star away because I feel it would have been very bland without the sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This recipe is the besssst ever for garlic chicken fried rice. I've made over and over again and I find no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I loved this and changed it a little. I like Jasmine rice, and used it instead. I also used some poached chicken I already had on hand. I also used seasoned rice vinegar and about 1/2 tsp of sesame oil. I also added a bit of dried ginger for added flavor. I loved it!! Will make again. Just about any meat or shrimp would work with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States