Garlic Chicken Fragrant Rice On a Budget Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was an amazing dish for the amount of effort you put into it. It tastes just like Hainanese chicken rice (express style). The house smelled so good while it was cooking because all the ingredients were steaming together. I made the recipe without changes but will probably marinate the chicken in some oyster sauce next time for extra flavor. The rice was awesome as is. Definitely a keeper for a quick dinner option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this last night to go with my curry chicken dish. It was very easy and had great flavor. I did not use the extra olive oil because I was worried it would be too greasy. So I just used the seseame oil as instructed and it was perfect! It was flavored of roasted garlic and scallions but still subtle enough to go with any dish! Thank you, this will definitely be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Great rice dish, lots of flavor and very easy to make. I did add more garlic when I made it the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was the most flavorful dish I've ever made. I didn't have olive oil, so I substituted it with canola oil. I didn't have chicken bouillion either. I added some saffron for a little coloring and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I wasn't expecting this to be that good, but it was easy. It really surprised me. It was SO good. I used basmati rice because that's all I had. I also added a splash of soy sauce and used chicken broth instead of water and bullion cubes. It tasted like fried rice! I have tried and tried to make fried rice, and it never comes out right. This is the way to do it. Next time I'm going to add some veggies and more soy to make it even more like fried rice. Save a LOT of fat by cutting out the olive oil completely. It is absolutely not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
my goodness, i think this recipe is amazing! for how simple it is, i'm still shocked that it tastes so good. it has a chinese flavor to it because of the ginger and sesame oil and i think i could eat the whole dish. i left out the chicken because i was using the rice dish as a side to a roasted chicken. next time i'll 1/2 the amount of olive oil. super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
i completely eliminated the oilve oil, reduced the sesame oil to 1 tblsp, used 4 chicken thighs and used canned chicken broth instead of water and bouillion cubes. and it was delicious!!! and so easy!!! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made this exactly the way it was written and it turned out fantastic. Great flavor, wonderful aroma and very easy to make. My 6 and 3 yr old both ate it up! We had parmesan chicken and asparagus and this rice as a side dish. Wife and I had a little white wine. Delicious. When I make it again I plan to cut the olive oil a little, add more garlic and another green onion. Just my personal taste. Give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Absolutely delicious!! This fragrant rice makes a perfect side dish for every main dish. Small changes though... I entirely omitted olive oil since I wasn't looking for "fried" rice. I added frozen corns and peas and the rice looked and tasted much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This rice was delicious! I followed the recipe (minus the onions-because I was rushed and forgot-and the chicken) and served it with sesame chicken. My guests and family loved it! I have never even considered adding anything to my rice while it was cooking. Maybe I'll try something of my own soon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefnine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States