Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was a great, simple recipe. I did use one South Carolina trick that you didn't mention--I cooked the grits in Chicken Broth rather than water, plus I added a little Half & Half to make the grits a little creamier. I used frozen jumbo shrimp-- Outstanding! This is definitely a Dinner Club-worthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars because the shrimp mixture with the sauce is incredible and SO easy to make, however I used the Velveeta grits recipe the first time I made this and it was awful. As a Southern girl who knows a thing or two about grits, I recommend you use real cheese, a dash of garlic, and some cayenne for your grits...cook them really low and keep adding water and/or milk until you get a nice, smooth consistency. I don't really modify the shrimp portion of the recipe, except for adding a little extra garlic and some turkey sausage (since shrimp is so expensive). I make this weekly and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This turned out great! I had a similar recipe in Charleston on a business trip and had a craving for this very dish. I did vary from the recipe by adding processed cheese (velvetta) instead of garlic cheese. The shrimp mixture was plenty garlicy by itself. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe is amazing! The only things I changed was to cook the grits in chicken broth and, because I didn't have the garlic cheese, I added about a cup of cheddar cheese and 2 tbsp of cream cheese into the grits. Talk about WONDERFUL! My husband got a small bowl at first thinking it wouldn't be good but was shocked how great it was. Of course he went back for seconds! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
If you don't make this, your crazy!! I have to say that as many times as we've made it and for as many different pallets who've tried it, it has ALWAYS been a hit! I never found the garlic cheese, so I just added extra cloves to the sautéed tomatoes. Also, I always add extra tomatoes, cayenne pepper and cheese because it is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaFraz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is the first time I've ever eaten Shrimp and Grits let alone cooking it. But I hear people raving about it all the time so I had to try it. My family loved it and I will definitely be making this again. I took some to work the next day and had to fight off all the co-workers trying to get my lunch. Of course I had to bring the recipe for everyone the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I've been looking for a great shrimp/grits recipe full of flavor and have found it. Easy!! The only thing different I did was cook the grits in chicken broth as done in Savannah... Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
the grits were amazing but the shrimp were a little bland, I'm thinking that maybe some old bay seasoning would've helped the shrimp taste a little bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimberlynp
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! Made this for New Years Dinner, and all the leftovers were gone the next day. Made a few Changes due to items on hand, used several Wisc cheeses, edam, sharp chedder, and montery jack. I baked several cloves of garlic and added to the grits and the shrimp. And, cooked the grits in chicken broth. This will be our new tradition dinner! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Excellent recipe. We will definitely use this one in the future. Great served w/seasonal vegetables. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEETIMEVAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States