Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
So very good. It was so quick and easy to make also. The cheese I added was garlic cheese. I also added andouille sausage. My husband could not get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Loved it- great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The first few bites were good but then it was too rich and heavy for my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I used this recipe as more of a method than following it exactly, so my rating is based on that. For the changes I incorporated was to use chicken stock instead of water for my grits, I shredded 6 oz of a block of hot pepper cheese instead of the garlic cheese and I also stirred in 1/4 cup of heavy cream into my grits with the cheese. 2lbs of shrimp is way too much, even for 4 servings, so I always use 1-1/2 lbs of shrimp completely peeled, since having the tails on makes this dish very messy to eat. To finish the dish, I sprinkled cooked and crumbled bacon and sliced green onions over the top.....AMAZING....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was good and simple. I thought the tomato was too much. Used pepperjack instead. Couldn't find garlic cheese. Overall, we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Fantastic! I made the shrimp and sauce almost exactly, just added (1)tbs more of butter and EVOO and +2 more cloves of garlic. For the grits: added a pinch of cheddar and about 2oz. of cream cheese. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was awesome! Very unexpected, my husband and I both loved it - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe is amazing! The only things I changed was to cook the grits in chicken broth and, because I didn't have the garlic cheese, I added about a cup of cheddar cheese and 2 tbsp of cream cheese into the grits. Talk about WONDERFUL! My husband got a small bowl at first thinking it wouldn't be good but was shocked how great it was. Of course he went back for seconds! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars because the shrimp mixture with the sauce is incredible and SO easy to make, however I used the Velveeta grits recipe the first time I made this and it was awful. As a Southern girl who knows a thing or two about grits, I recommend you use real cheese, a dash of garlic, and some cayenne for your grits...cook them really low and keep adding water and/or milk until you get a nice, smooth consistency. I don't really modify the shrimp portion of the recipe, except for adding a little extra garlic and some turkey sausage (since shrimp is so expensive). I make this weekly and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Oh.my.goodness. I was born and raised in GA and have never in my whole life heard of combining my two fave things ~ grits and shrimp. Knowing grits as a breakfast food and shrimp not so much...just didn't sound like a good combo. My husband went on a business trip to Missouri and came back saying that the dish was good. So...I tried it. I didn't have cayenne on hand, so I added a few shakes of Franks hot sauce (hey...I am in the south, I DO have hot sauce :))...and for cheese, I wasn't sure on what to get, so I use onion and chive cream cheese. I cooked the grits in chicken broth like someone suggested. Didn't use fresh tomatoes...but I had canned some tomatoes this past summer, so I used that. This is definitely a keeper!!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States