Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Best. Recipe. Ever. Period. To have my husband moan "this is delicious!" is a rare event. This recipe got that response. As others suggested, used chicken broth for grits. Also, used whipped cream cheese to replace processed, used 1 can Hunt's diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano to replace tomato. Used garlic powder in grits and minced garlic in shrimp. This is just unbelievably good. Seriously. So good, that I hang my head in shame and admit, I went back for seconds. Like, an entire plate of seconds! LOL. Thanks for sharing aweaver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Replace the shrimp with crawfish tails and add orange juice instead of the lime. This is a wonderful switch... trust me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I doubled the sauce and added fresh basil. WOW!!! To make the grits more creamy, I added half-and-half. This is real comfort food. I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so used canned, diced tomatoes. I could lick the saucepan dry, it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very good! Followed another reviewer"s suggestion and added 1 cup of cheddar cheese and a Tablespoon of cream cheese. Shrimp could use a little more seasoning>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Shrimp was so good. The grits were to thick. I would have preferred the grits without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmmisty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
As a lifelong resident of the coastal area of SC, I know shrimp and grits and this is a very good recipe. However, if you really want to make it special, FORGET the cooking instructions for grits on the bag and do this; (1) Use Quaker Quick Grits, (2) for each cup of raw grits, use five cups of water, 1/4 Tsp. Sea Salt, 1 Tsp. Real Butter,(3) Bring water to a rolling boil, add salt and slowly stir in grits, immediately turn to low and continue stirring of a minute or two, place lid on pot, continue cooking on low heat for thirty to forty minutes stirring frequently to avoid lumping and sticking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
this is quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaware Water Gap, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I cooked the grits in 2c milk, 1c water, plus butter. Creamy and amazing! I also added spicy sausage as some other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Simply Amazing! I didn't have garlic cheese so I used plenty granulated garlic and Land of Lakes Garlic & Herb butter in my grits! Just wonderful and I love shrimp & grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Sooooo good! I didn't have a tomato but had a can of diced tomatoes. Worked very well. It's something I can buy and have on stock and not have to worry about spoiling too soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States