Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Excellent recipe. We will definitely use this one in the future. Great served w/seasonal vegetables. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEETIMEVAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This turned out great! I had a similar recipe in Charleston on a business trip and had a craving for this very dish. I did vary from the recipe by adding processed cheese (velvetta) instead of garlic cheese. The shrimp mixture was plenty garlicy by itself. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Loved it but I switched some things up that topped it off. I used milk instead of water and yellow grits and put a lot of cheese in it. That made it just perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I sauteed the shrimp with leeks and garlic then added the diced tomato and put this over the grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was a great, simple recipe. I did use one South Carolina trick that you didn't mention--I cooked the grits in Chicken Broth rather than water, plus I added a little Half & Half to make the grits a little creamier. I used frozen jumbo shrimp-- Outstanding! This is definitely a Dinner Club-worthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
If you don't make this, your crazy!! I have to say that as many times as we've made it and for as many different pallets who've tried it, it has ALWAYS been a hit! I never found the garlic cheese, so I just added extra cloves to the sautéed tomatoes. Also, I always add extra tomatoes, cayenne pepper and cheese because it is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaFraz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Awesome recipe! Deserves 5 stars. I have made this dozens of times, varying the ingredients sometimes. But no matter what, it's always fabulous and impressive to guests. I prefer Roma tomatoes and extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
We love this. We make it probably a few times a month. I put a lot of tomatoes in there because I really like the sweetness with the shrimp and it makes more of a sauce that I pour over the grits. We usually use pepper cheese because we like the hotness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was fabulous and so easy! I changed the servings to 6, but followed the recipe exactly. I think next time, I won't use as much oil. The entire family loved it! It will definitely be added to our monthly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Delicious and very easy to whip up on a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States