Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was fantastic. I used the chicken broth as recommended by so many in the grits. I have never made grits before this recipe, but everything came out perfectly. My family was impressed. Great recipe. I'll be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was okay, but not great. I used everything to a T, but did use a can of Rotel instead of the tomato and used cheddar cubes as I couldn't find the garlic cheese in the grocery store. As others suggested, I cooked the grits in the chicken broth. Personally, I think the chicken broth was just too overwhelming. Next time I'm going cook the grits in 1/2 broth and 1/2 water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
these were sooo good! i have never had grits before and wanted to try them. this recipe was a great introduction to them! i couldn't find garlic flavored cheese, so just used regular Velveeta. i used 2 huge garlic cloves to compensate, and definitely could taste the garlic. i used frozen shrimp - i didn't have a ton in my freezer, so next time i will definitely use the suggested 2 pounds. overall, myself, hubby and 3 year old all devoured and it has been declared a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Excellent. Took advice of other reviews cooking grits in partial chix broth and reserving some broth for the gravy. Gravy: Added 1/2 c. chopped mushr. Combined one fresh tom with half can Rotel tom and green chilies/mild. Diced 2 scallions. Added 2 Tbl Worc Sauce, no lemon. Simmer for 15+ and adjust flavor. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I've been looking for a great shrimp/grits recipe full of flavor and have found it. Easy!! The only thing different I did was cook the grits in chicken broth as done in Savannah... Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
So very good. It was so quick and easy to make also. The cheese I added was garlic cheese. I also added andouille sausage. My husband could not get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Loved it- great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The first few bites were good but then it was too rich and heavy for my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferqueron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I used this recipe as more of a method than following it exactly, so my rating is based on that. For the changes I incorporated was to use chicken stock instead of water for my grits, I shredded 6 oz of a block of hot pepper cheese instead of the garlic cheese and I also stirred in 1/4 cup of heavy cream into my grits with the cheese. 2lbs of shrimp is way too much, even for 4 servings, so I always use 1-1/2 lbs of shrimp completely peeled, since having the tails on makes this dish very messy to eat. To finish the dish, I sprinkled cooked and crumbled bacon and sliced green onions over the top.....AMAZING....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was good and simple. I thought the tomato was too much. Used pepperjack instead. Couldn't find garlic cheese. Overall, we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States