Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
these were sooo good! i have never had grits before and wanted to try them. this recipe was a great introduction to them! i couldn't find garlic flavored cheese, so just used regular Velveeta. i used 2 huge garlic cloves to compensate, and definitely could taste the garlic. i used frozen shrimp - i didn't have a ton in my freezer, so next time i will definitely use the suggested 2 pounds. overall, myself, hubby and 3 year old all devoured and it has been declared a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Excellent. Took advice of other reviews cooking grits in partial chix broth and reserving some broth for the gravy. Gravy: Added 1/2 c. chopped mushr. Combined one fresh tom with half can Rotel tom and green chilies/mild. Diced 2 scallions. Added 2 Tbl Worc Sauce, no lemon. Simmer for 15+ and adjust flavor. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I've been looking for a great shrimp/grits recipe full of flavor and have found it. Easy!! The only thing different I did was cook the grits in chicken broth as done in Savannah... Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
So very good. It was so quick and easy to make also. The cheese I added was garlic cheese. I also added andouille sausage. My husband could not get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Loved it- great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The first few bites were good but then it was too rich and heavy for my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I used this recipe as more of a method than following it exactly, so my rating is based on that. For the changes I incorporated was to use chicken stock instead of water for my grits, I shredded 6 oz of a block of hot pepper cheese instead of the garlic cheese and I also stirred in 1/4 cup of heavy cream into my grits with the cheese. 2lbs of shrimp is way too much, even for 4 servings, so I always use 1-1/2 lbs of shrimp completely peeled, since having the tails on makes this dish very messy to eat. To finish the dish, I sprinkled cooked and crumbled bacon and sliced green onions over the top.....AMAZING....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was good and simple. I thought the tomato was too much. Used pepperjack instead. Couldn't find garlic cheese. Overall, we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Fantastic! I made the shrimp and sauce almost exactly, just added (1)tbs more of butter and EVOO and +2 more cloves of garlic. For the grits: added a pinch of cheddar and about 2oz. of cream cheese. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was awesome! Very unexpected, my husband and I both loved it - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States