Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My wife doesnt like grits or cayenne pepper but she just tried this and asked for seconds!!! I used this recipe pretty much as is but with my little personal tweak....EXCELLENT... I am going to share this dish with my co-workers....think they will love it. I had no idea these ingredients would come together in flavor like they did....THANKS AWEAVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I try variations of shrimp and grits from adding sausage to adding crab meat. Those are more time consuming so I liked the simplicity of this recipe. I have never used lemon juice in my shrimp and grits, but I liked the twist it gave the sauce. The only thing I did different was to use a 1/2 cup of light cream along with 1 1/2 large chicken cubes to 3 1/2 cups of water (my grits called for 4 cups of water to 1 cup of grits) and I skipped the cheese altogether. I also added about 1 tbsp of cilantro to the shrimp and crumbled some turkey bacon on top just before serving. Muy delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhillyGirl1908

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
this is a legitimate shrimp & grits recipe! I used cheddar instead of garlic cheese, and added a little hot sauce. could not be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The grits were fanastic. I used chicken stock instead of water. Also, I couldn't figure out what garlic cheese spread was. After looking all over the grocery store, found Allouette brand garlic cheese spread. Just dumped the whole container in with the cooked grits. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made this for dinner about a week ago.. I did make some changes like leaving out the tomato since my boyfriend and I don't like them. I also used garlic powder and mild cheddar in the grits rather than a spread... I also put a chicken bullion cube in the water when I made the grits and added about 1/4 cup of cream and a tablespoon of butter to the grits... but he absolutely loved it... will be adding this to my rotation,...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
the grits were amazing but the shrimp were a little bland, I'm thinking that maybe some old bay seasoning would've helped the shrimp taste a little bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimberlynp
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! Made this for New Years Dinner, and all the leftovers were gone the next day. Made a few Changes due to items on hand, used several Wisc cheeses, edam, sharp chedder, and montery jack. I baked several cloves of garlic and added to the grits and the shrimp. And, cooked the grits in chicken broth. This will be our new tradition dinner! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I first tried this recipe in a restaurant in Virginia. This recipe is amazing. My entire family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Used custom recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This recipe was awesome! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjmcclam

Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States