Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Really good. I used red pepper flakes because I was out of cayenne. Great for any meal of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I've had shrimp and grits appetizers in upscaled seafood restaurants down here, but never made it myself. I just made my grits according to my box directions. I did use my homemade chicken broth in lieu of water, and added some half and half to get them extra creamy. I couldn't find a garlic cheese, so used Monterey Jack and a bit of cheddar. I grated the cheese so it would melt better. I also used canned tomatoes since the market didn't have any good tomatoes and it turned out just fine. I did add some green onions and fresh garden parsley, and seasoned the shrimp with Old Bay, paprika, and a dash of cayenne and of course the fresh minced garlic. This was just so darn delicious. So creamy and cheesy and shrimpy...how can you go wrong. Mine was even better than the restaurant's. Thanks AWEAVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was easy n delicious my family wants me to make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Great recipe...I tweaked it abit also, used Chicken broth like some of the other users; also used garlic powder instead of garlic cloves used kraft 3 cheese mix and added red and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I'm giving this a 5 star because it's absolutely delicious and reminds me of sitting by the water in Savannah. It's comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Jacquemin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My wife doesnt like grits or cayenne pepper but she just tried this and asked for seconds!!! I used this recipe pretty much as is but with my little personal tweak....EXCELLENT... I am going to share this dish with my co-workers....think they will love it. I had no idea these ingredients would come together in flavor like they did....THANKS AWEAVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I try variations of shrimp and grits from adding sausage to adding crab meat. Those are more time consuming so I liked the simplicity of this recipe. I have never used lemon juice in my shrimp and grits, but I liked the twist it gave the sauce. The only thing I did different was to use a 1/2 cup of light cream along with 1 1/2 large chicken cubes to 3 1/2 cups of water (my grits called for 4 cups of water to 1 cup of grits) and I skipped the cheese altogether. I also added about 1 tbsp of cilantro to the shrimp and crumbled some turkey bacon on top just before serving. Muy delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhillyGirl1908

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
this is a legitimate shrimp & grits recipe! I used cheddar instead of garlic cheese, and added a little hot sauce. could not be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The grits were fanastic. I used chicken stock instead of water. Also, I couldn't figure out what garlic cheese spread was. After looking all over the grocery store, found Allouette brand garlic cheese spread. Just dumped the whole container in with the cooked grits. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made this for dinner about a week ago.. I did make some changes like leaving out the tomato since my boyfriend and I don't like them. I also used garlic powder and mild cheddar in the grits rather than a spread... I also put a chicken bullion cube in the water when I made the grits and added about 1/4 cup of cream and a tablespoon of butter to the grits... but he absolutely loved it... will be adding this to my rotation,...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States