Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I cooked the grits in 2c milk, 1c water, plus butter. Creamy and amazing! I also added spicy sausage as some other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Simply Amazing! I didn't have garlic cheese so I used plenty granulated garlic and Land of Lakes Garlic & Herb butter in my grits! Just wonderful and I love shrimp & grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Sooooo good! I didn't have a tomato but had a can of diced tomatoes. Worked very well. It's something I can buy and have on stock and not have to worry about spoiling too soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Good recipe. I did use chicken broth/stock to cook grits vs water & added a touch of cream to them. The grits were flavorful. I enjoyed the grits by itself. However, I did not like the shrimp spooned over it. I just did not like the combination of flavors. I have never had true shrimp & grits before, so cannot say if this recipes tastes as it should. I just personally didn't like the flavor combinations. I have had Etouffee over plain grits, which a co-worker (ex-chef) had made and it was wonderful! I thought this may be similar, but just didn't work for me. I will make grits this way again, as the cheese and garlic was divine! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was great. I took a few of the suggestions and left out the processed cheese and instead used cheddar cheese. I added in powdered garlic when cooking the grits (very slow with 2 parts water and 2 parts heavy whipping cream to 1 part grits). I also added in about a teaspoon of cayenne because I like heat in my food. Last I only used one tomato and prior to adding the shrimp I sauteed five heads of garlic. I'll make this again for sure - it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Fairly quick to get on the table on a busy weeknight. I will make this again, but will definitely tweak next time. First off, I'm not a lover of "processed cheese" at all, so I'll either use less than 6 oz next time, or substitute Alouette cheese spread. Like the majority of reviewers, I also used chicken broth and a little half and half for the grits, which was nice. I used the frozen shrimp tonight, but I'd prefer raw shrimp next time. I'd even like to experiment with some turkey sausage and extra veggies. I'll also use 2 roma tomatoes, diced, instead of only one. The lemony, garlic sauce was very good, but I did toss in some parsley and chives for color. Husband inhaled this and I honestly didn't think he'd dig this dinner. Overall, an easy, tasty dish to serve without a lot of prep work or fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Being a northerner, this was first attempt at making AND eating grits and shrimp, although I have wanted to do so for some time now. This recipe looked just up my alley and I was not disappointed. I used regular Velveeta and added some garlic powder to the grits (instant) because I could not find the garlic-flavored cheese. I also took the liberty of adding some sliced sweet onions, strips of bell pepper and sliced scallions as I had these on hand and wanted to use them up. The end product was very tasty and my additions made the dish a bit more colorful. Everyone loved it and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My husband and I tried grits at breakfast last week for the first time. (Originally from IL, land of no grits...) They were a little bland, but good with salt and butter. Had them again at the next breakfast out and I decided to try this recipe since I had seen the dish on a cooking show about New Orleans. It was delicious!!!! Really, really great! I read the other reviews (from the Southern gals) and cooked the grits in chicken broth and added about a 1/2 cup of half and half at the end. Also used 1 cup of shredded cheddar instead of velvetta. This was to die for! It made the ones from the breakfast restaurant seem bad... It was creamy, cheesy and delicious! The hubby loved the tomato/garlic mixture the shrimp was cooked in and said that could go on one of his homemade pizzas as sauce. He kept hovering over the stove sniffing as I was cooking so I finally put him in charge of stirring. (If you can't get rid of them, put them to work!) We will definitely make this again. I'm using the leftover grits as a side dish to baked chicken tonight. Oh ~ I also added extra garlic to the shrimp mix (we love garlic) and will add an extra pinch or two of cayenne pepper next time. Thanks for posting the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Really good. I used red pepper flakes because I was out of cayenne. Great for any meal of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I've had shrimp and grits appetizers in upscaled seafood restaurants down here, but never made it myself. I just made my grits according to my box directions. I did use my homemade chicken broth in lieu of water, and added some half and half to get them extra creamy. I couldn't find a garlic cheese, so used Monterey Jack and a bit of cheddar. I grated the cheese so it would melt better. I also used canned tomatoes since the market didn't have any good tomatoes and it turned out just fine. I did add some green onions and fresh garden parsley, and seasoned the shrimp with Old Bay, paprika, and a dash of cayenne and of course the fresh minced garlic. This was just so darn delicious. So creamy and cheesy and shrimpy...how can you go wrong. Mine was even better than the restaurant's. Thanks AWEAVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States