Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
As someone who does not have much experience cooking with seafood, I was looking for a simple shrimp recipe, and this was it!! I didn't have processed cheese, so I used grated cheese, but it still turned out much better than I expected. I will definitely be making this again! VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Just madet these for lunch. I am not a grits person, but this was fabulous and easy. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veralee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was sooooo good and rich! I used "boursin" cheese and followed the directions and it was GOOD! However, once I sprinkled some chipolte tabasco sauce on it - it was AWESOME!!!!!!!! (thus, 4 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very tasty, a great change of pace. Cooked grits with chicken stock, and substituted 6 oz sharp cheddar cheese for the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Great...while preparing my husband, native Northerner, said he'd never had grits and knew he would not like them. He love this dish and asked that I add this recipe to my list of dishes to serve our guests. I did take advice from other reviewers added rotel tomatoes, onion, & old bay. Easy and very D e l i s h.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Not like anything I've ever tasted. Subsituted water with 2c chicken broth and 1c half & half. Surprisingly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hampton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Murphy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I've never made grits before but following suggestions on here they came out great. Used chicken broth but forgot to add the cheese. Also, I added some red onion, sliced ham and some brocolli to the shrimp/tomato mixture. I used thawed frozen shrimp and added a couple pats of butter to the sauce just before serving. Made a wonderful broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was fantastic. I used the chicken broth as recommended by so many in the grits. I have never made grits before this recipe, but everything came out perfectly. My family was impressed. Great recipe. I'll be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was okay, but not great. I used everything to a T, but did use a can of Rotel instead of the tomato and used cheddar cubes as I couldn't find the garlic cheese in the grocery store. As others suggested, I cooked the grits in the chicken broth. Personally, I think the chicken broth was just too overwhelming. Next time I'm going cook the grits in 1/2 broth and 1/2 water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
these were sooo good! i have never had grits before and wanted to try them. this recipe was a great introduction to them! i couldn't find garlic flavored cheese, so just used regular Velveeta. i used 2 huge garlic cloves to compensate, and definitely could taste the garlic. i used frozen shrimp - i didn't have a ton in my freezer, so next time i will definitely use the suggested 2 pounds. overall, myself, hubby and 3 year old all devoured and it has been declared a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States