Garlic Cajun Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I used this recipe for my first try at bar-b-que ribs and found it easy as well as delicious! My kids loved it. I took others advice and used half as much red pepper and it seemed spicy-but just the right amount of spice. It was loved by the guests we had over for dinner (both from Louisianna) I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2000
The idea of boiling the ribs in a homemade "cajin boil" before grilling save hours of actual "cook time." Marinating and putting on the grill for that short period of time, my guests thought that I had spent hours on these ribs. The best part? They loved them! If I hadn't grabbed a few ribs for myself, there wouldn't have been any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
Easy on the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
Depending on how your Cajun Seasoning is made, you may want to eliminate the salt completely. Otherwise this was a fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
These turned out very good. I followed the advice of the reviews and just left out the seasoned salt and worcestershire completely. My boiling pot didn't quite fit the full amount of water and I had to cut my ribs in half. Worked great. I parboiled ahead and refrigerated in the sauce for a few hours so it was nice for company. I served this with homeade iced tea, jalapeno cheddar corn muffins, french fries in the turkey fryer, creamy broccoli slaw, and ice cream with strawberry rhubarb sauce. Fun party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
These are interesting if you love the strong flavor of salt. Garlic SUPER SALTY Ribs would be a great name for these. I am not one of those who doesn't like salt either. Save your ribs. The cooking directions were great. The flavor was nothing but salt with a hint of garlic and BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
they were odd tasting....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Way TOO salty! In the boiling part it is okay but I would completely eliminate Seasoned Salt from BBQ sauce mixture.(especially if your cajun seasoning has Sea salt in it). My husband is a salt-a-holic and it was even TOO salty for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Use a salt free Cajun seasoning, but watch out for MSG, if you don't want it. Then maybe add Sea Salt to taste instead of so much iodonized salt. Maybe add just a little of your chosen salty seasonings at a time until it tastes right. Be careful in your choice of bbq sauce too. Hidden salt and/or MSG builds up and can ruin a wonderful recipe like this. I love salt but come on....I like to use a Zatarain Shrimp boiling bag in the water and Mrs Dash for a salt free zippy seasoning on the ribs. My brothers say that precooking ribs in any way is a sacrilege to good bbq cook! They cook them in a heavy duty covered pit for hours (Like four)with wood chips pre-soaked in soapy water and then drained and wrapped in foil(the chips, not the ribs!) just above smoking temperature. You have to be very careful that the fire doesn't get too hot or go out altogether. Way too much work for me, but then I'm a "wimmen". Bon appetite, chers. PS once you get the bbq ribs right, try these tips and eat them right out of the boiling pot! Just simmer them in seasoned water until tender, about twice as long. Throw some corn or red potatoes to the mix but add a little more salt because both of these veggies soak up the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
These ribs were amazing! The only change I made was omitting the salt. The cajun seasoning had salt in it already. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

How to Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, slow-cooked pork ribs on your barbeque grill.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States