Garlic Cajun Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Loved this recipe! Normally when I cook ribs, I typically boil for about 1 hour and these weren't the best looking ribs I'd ever seen, so a bit tough. I only had enough Cajun seasoning for the boiling so I used my Pampered Chef Smoky BBQ rub with the sauce and the sauce was incredible. The teenager in the house that HATES any BBQ loved the sauce & has requested again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is a REALLY TASTY sauce! After reading other reviews, I knew I had to knock out some of that salt. I used full-salt seasonings as called for during poaching, but I made salt-free 'seasoning salt' and salt-free Cajun seasoning for the sauce. The taste was PHENOMENAL! I think I chopped more garlic than called for for the sauce, but it was perfect! My other problem with this recipe is I do not like the cooking method. I like my ribs tender and falling off the bone, and these did not come out that way at all. I have the best luck doing ribs low and slow in the oven before finishing on the grill. Thanks for the great sauce but the simmer method just isn't for me. Made for Western Region Allstars Faceless Frenzy July 2012.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Seriously the best ribs! I add more garlic (I am a garlic lover) and love this recipe! Tender ribs, falvorful, and good ole- BBQ! I DON'T grill and just bake them after boiling and it works just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrsolyaD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This has become "my go to" rib recipe. One thing I do is add a little beer (nothing too bold) in place of some water while boiling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fugginmark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This will be my way of preparing ribs from now on!I usually make a rub and bake for 3 hours at 250 degrees and then on the campfire to finish. These are really good and so simple. We used country style ribs. Very tender and full of flavor with a kick! I am anxious to try this sauce on chicken! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
These turned out very good. I followed the advice of the reviews and just left out the seasoned salt and worcestershire completely. My boiling pot didn't quite fit the full amount of water and I had to cut my ribs in half. Worked great. I parboiled ahead and refrigerated in the sauce for a few hours so it was nice for company. I served this with homeade iced tea, jalapeno cheddar corn muffins, french fries in the turkey fryer, creamy broccoli slaw, and ice cream with strawberry rhubarb sauce. Fun party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Use a salt free Cajun seasoning, but watch out for MSG, if you don't want it. Then maybe add Sea Salt to taste instead of so much iodonized salt. Maybe add just a little of your chosen salty seasonings at a time until it tastes right. Be careful in your choice of bbq sauce too. Hidden salt and/or MSG builds up and can ruin a wonderful recipe like this. I love salt but come on....I like to use a Zatarain Shrimp boiling bag in the water and Mrs Dash for a salt free zippy seasoning on the ribs. My brothers say that precooking ribs in any way is a sacrilege to good bbq cook! They cook them in a heavy duty covered pit for hours (Like four)with wood chips pre-soaked in soapy water and then drained and wrapped in foil(the chips, not the ribs!) just above smoking temperature. You have to be very careful that the fire doesn't get too hot or go out altogether. Way too much work for me, but then I'm a "wimmen". Bon appetite, chers. PS once you get the bbq ribs right, try these tips and eat them right out of the boiling pot! Just simmer them in seasoned water until tender, about twice as long. Throw some corn or red potatoes to the mix but add a little more salt because both of these veggies soak up the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This recipe was great! My boyfriend now demands ribs on a weekly basis. I am not a cooking savvy person, and this was very easy for me to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
These are interesting if you love the strong flavor of salt. Garlic SUPER SALTY Ribs would be a great name for these. I am not one of those who doesn't like salt either. Save your ribs. The cooking directions were great. The flavor was nothing but salt with a hint of garlic and BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
These ribs were amazing! The only change I made was omitting the salt. The cajun seasoning had salt in it already. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

How to Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, slow-cooked pork ribs on your barbeque grill.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States