Garlic Butter Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
A very refreshing side dish. I made this dish exactly according to recipe. I would use less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
It was very good. We didn't add the lemon juice though(didn't have any). We love fresh green beans. We mainly used the garlic, sugar, and butter. I steamed the green beans while heating up the butter sauce (butter, sugar and garlic). After the green beans were tender, I poured the butter over the beans, mixed well, then added salt and pepper. It was a HUGE hit in out house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Great recipe! I used a steam in bag of green beans, less sugar and a mixture of olive oil and butter. The lemon juice gives the beans a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Nothing dramatic in terms of seasonings here, but just a few, simple, fresh ingredients are often the characteristic and signature of great dishes. I don't have a steamer basket, so just dropped the beans in boiling water for about five minutes until crisp-tender. The sugar didn't appeal to me so I just left it out, and I loved the addition of the lemon, something I don't always think to do. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Perfect! I don't have a steamer basket so I just boiled the beans, drained, then mixed in with the garlic butter. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
For us, it was too much lemon juice. Next time, I'd cut the lemon juice in half (or use lemon pepper seasoning). I'd like to try this with EVOO next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Took these to a family get together and they were the hit of the meal! Everyone was so impressed, but they were super easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
The best recipe for green beans. This is so easy to make that you can't pass it up. My entire family loves them including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Very good. I only used a few spashes of lemon juice instead of the amount listed. I also added some bacon bits at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I won't have my green beans any other way now. When I try them without the lemon, they taste dull and flat. Tailor the amount to your liking, as with every recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States