Garlic Butter Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was excellent! Reminds me of some green beans I had at Goodwood Barbecue Restaurant in Boise, ID
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
It was very good. We didn't add the lemon juice though(didn't have any). We love fresh green beans. We mainly used the garlic, sugar, and butter. I steamed the green beans while heating up the butter sauce (butter, sugar and garlic). After the green beans were tender, I poured the butter over the beans, mixed well, then added salt and pepper. It was a HUGE hit in out house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This recipe was delicious but I added a small amount of shredded parmesan cheese, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I won't have my green beans any other way now. When I try them without the lemon, they taste dull and flat. Tailor the amount to your liking, as with every recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Mmmmm these were good! This is going to be my "go to green bean recipe" from now on. I made a few adjustments based on our tastes and what we had around olive oil instead of butter, frozen haricot verts instead of fresh green beans, two garlic cloves instead of one and the juice of a Meyer lemon instead of regular lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Perfect! I don't have a steamer basket so I just boiled the beans, drained, then mixed in with the garlic butter. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Absolutely delicious!! I reduced the lemon juice, but left everything else exactly the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Took these to a family get together and they were the hit of the meal! Everyone was so impressed, but they were super easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
The best recipe for green beans. This is so easy to make that you can't pass it up. My entire family loves them including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
An excellent basic recipe for green beans. I was looking for a recipe to approximate the green beans I had recently in a restaurant, and which my 4-year-old daughter loved, and this is very close. I cooked them for about 10 minutes because the ones from the restaurant were a little more well done than crisp-tender. I doubled the amount of butter; in our house, we like butter. I also used one teaspoon of lemon juice rather than two, and that tasted like the right amount to me. Left out the sugar because we didn't have any (strange, I know). My daughter ate these beans up. This recipe will now be part of the regular dinner rotation in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States