Garlic Butter Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
very good but was a little to much garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss moran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is the best way to enjoy the flavor of this squash. The squash is sweet enough by itself without adding some type of sugar that other recipes call for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I baked this at 350* since I had other dishes baking at the same time. I did cut the bottoms so they would stand flat. This was delicious and a wonderfully savory change from the sweet syrupy style. We both enjoyed this quite a bit. I left the garlic off of one piece and it was just as good that way too. Great recipe and an easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This was simply wonderful! I zeroed in on this acorn squash recipe because it wasn't the sweet kind. I definitely like savory over sweet as other reviewers have mentioned. I have an awesome Garlic Pepper mix (McCormic brand) that I used in place of the separate additions of garlic and pepper and cooked according to time stated. We were still talking about this recipe the next morning. I can't wait to make this again! Thanks for submitting, arich01
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I don't cook squash very much, but this will be my go to recipe when I do. Easy and very tasty, the only change I made was I use vegan, lactose free margarine. Thank you arich01 for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Rating this recipe with 5 stars. Cooking time was appropriate. Using common sense ~ you will need to cook longer for a larger squash. If unsure, poke with a fork to test the softness. The only thing I did different was add a little extra butter. Will say that "all" was eaten and positive comments given from my husband and sons. Thank you dearly for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
It was nice to have a savory version of this squash. I had leftovers and added rosemary to it... when I make this again, I will definitely season with rosemary and thyme too, in addition to the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Great alternative to a sweet dish. Did 3/4 tsp of garlic salt and only 1.5 tsp fresh garlic. Seemed like a lot of butter, but that did t stop me from enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I had smaller squash, so I cut down on the cooking time. I think next time I would use garlic powder instead of fresh so it can spread better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was a good alternative to the sweet versions. Cooking time was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States