Garlic Brussels Sprouts with Crispy Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
These were absolutely delicious! Our garlic is big and beautiful right now, so I cut the recipe back by 2 cloves and it was almost too much. Apart from the garlic (and a little more chicken broth), I didn't change a thing. My husband and I agree, it tasted even better the next day! In the future, I'll make it ahead so flavors have time to blend more. A definite keeper. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisha
Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
YUM! I halved the recipe b/c I'm the only one here that likes Brussels sprouts, and that worked out fine. I didn't measure the salt and pepper, just went by taste. Will def make these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Vegetable of choice (in this case Brussels sprouts) + bacon + garlic = you can’t go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This needs more chicken stock as it cooks off and the garlic burns. The brussel sprouts need to be parboiled. After 15 minutes mine were still really firm and under cooked. The flavors are good, (who doesn't like bacon in anything?). just need an adjustment on the cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I guess I put my own spin on this, but it came out great. Hadn't eaten brussel sprouts since I was a child and I recall disliking them. I cut the brussel sprouts in half and set them aside. I cooked the bacon til it was crispy, then set to the side and crumbled it. When the bacon was done, I put the sprouts in bacon grease flat side down and added a dab of margarine/butter so there was enough grease, then added chopped/minced garlic, pepper and a garlic salt to taste. Flipped them over to cook the other side. Added the bacon a minute or 2 before the brussel sprouts were done, and then drained all the grease. They were amazing. Still had a nice, soft crunch, because we hate soggy veggies, and the flavor was great. Left out the chicken broth all together. Again, just my spin on it. But the basics for the recipe were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotGyrl1277

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Like making these sprouts. I usually double the recipe but only cook 13 pieces of bacon. Then I omit all the butter/olive oil and just cook the sliced garlic in the drippings. I cook the broth down, instead of draining, and then stir in the crumbled bacon. My man, who isn't a fan of Brussels sprouts at all, loves them prepared this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I never knew Brussels Sprouts could taste this good. My Brussels Sp.- hating-husband absolutely loved these. I changed only the way I cook my sprouts. After cleaning them, cutting an X in the core, I steamed them in a microwave steaming bag. Meanwile, I'd cooked the bacon, and sauteed the garlic in the butter and olive oil. Added a bit of chicken broth to the sauteed garlic, halved the sprouts, stirred them into the butter/oil/broth to re-heat them, served them with the bacon bits and just a drizzle of the bacon grease. This veggie dish was an accompanyment to a Kielbasa ring, and served with a side of buttered toast. I used about a dozen large sprouts. 3 slices of bacon, an guestimated the oil and butter to sautee 2 large garlic cloves. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
First time cooking fresh Brussels Sprouts was a success! I followed the recipe but omitted the last butter and sautéed cooked bacon with the sprouts before serving. Would add more garlic in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Well, I've made this recipe a few times now and we love Brussels sprouts! I can't believe I'd never had them before and now we've been eating them a few times a month. This recipe made the request list for Christmas dinner in a few days. That should tell you how good they were :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!!! I made no changes and it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States