Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This side dish was my contribution to a Father's Day lunch. It was a huge hit. I did do a little tweaking though. I'm not a big fan of raw broccoli, so I steamed the florets from 1 1/2 bunches of broccoli for 3-4 minutes, then drained and rinsed them well with cold water. For the dressing: I blended 2 rounded tsps of minced garlic, 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar, 2 Tbsps Dijon nustard, and 2 tsps honey (helps cut the tartness a bit). I poured this over the cooled broccoli and chilled for about 3 hours. I'm not a fan of Parmesan cheese, so I left it out. Next time, I'll try adding a few thinly sliced green onions to the broccoli before adding the dressing. This is a great recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very good if you like salty and tart. I will reduce the salt next time as it was too salty for my taste. I also blended the dressing in a blender and it was quick and easy. Prepared mid-morning and served for dinner. I am in the process of collecting different side dishes as I'm tired of the same stand-bys. This will go into my "keeper" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
WAY, WAY too much salt...be careful! And I usually love garlic, but, thought it had too much garlic too. However, super easy & still liked the oil base (instead of mayo). Will make again, but, with less salt and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by In My LIfe
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very tangy marinade, a good balance to the broccoli. I used regular yellow mustard instead of dijon, and only marinated 1 1/2 hours. Very flavorful and tangy. I would make again, probably adding some other vegetables to the mix (cucumbers, peppers, or peas would be nice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In My LIfe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Did not like this. I think the vinegar ruined it or maybe bec there were way too many strong flavors going on. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I'm not a big fan of raw broccoli - but I love it cooked, so I tried this on steamed broccoli. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Very good and great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yum, this was great. I would definitely make again.I used my broccoli raw as stated. I did reduce the salt to just under 1tsp. I also used 1 huge clove of garlic(prob. equal to 3cloves) used cider vinegar because thats what I had. I didnt do the paste thing with the garlic I just put all marinade ingreds in the blender until smooth, then poured over the broc in a ziploc bag. Turned bag every so often. Topped with fresh grated parm. I used grey poupon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. I used balsamic vinagrette, and swaped the vinegar and oil measurments -- I just didn't like the taste. I think there was just TOO MUCH sauce. I like the taste of broccoli and when I used the sauce I couldn't taste anything but balsamic garlic onion. Next time, if there is a next time, I'll cut all the amounts in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States