Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I cut this in half and took CookinBug's suggestions and served it pretty much right after tossing with the dressing. I loved it, my family did not. I'll make this again but only for myself or someone who will appreciate it. NOTE: I used fresh grated parmesan cheese. Don't use the canned variety. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is pretty good... if you don't let it sit for more than an hour or so. After a couple of hours in the fridge, the flavor is a little overwhelming. I'd make this again, but would prepare shortly before serving. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Great idea for broccoli! I've only made this once; next time I may blanch the broccoli. My changes: 1) I didn't use salt or make a garlic paste because I wanted to try my new garlic grater from the Delray Beach FL Garlic Festival. (Works fine! :-) 2) I only had whole-grain dijon, so that's what I used, 3) I cut down on the oil a bit thanks to other reviewers, and 4) just before serving I tossed in some grape tomatoes. 5) I put the cheese on the table as a choice. I'll definitely make again, and will enjoy tweaking the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This made a great salad and snack! It is VERY garlicky, but I love that (maybe pass on this one for V-Day..). The proportions of oil and vinegar are just right. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I decided to make a summer meal in December because of the unseasonable warm temperatures. This sounded really good, and I just couldn't wait to try it. I just made this about 15 minutes ago and couldn't wait to taste it, so I gave it a little sample. It was delicious. I can't wait to have more and to make it again. They only thing is that I think the head of broccoli that I got from my local grocery was a little small for the amount of marinade, so next time I will double the broccoli or halve the marinade. I also blanched the broccoli to make it a little more tender. Definitely a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HITTLETS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I was a little wary about this recipe however it turned out great. I steamed the broccoli and then shocked it in ice water to bring out the pretty green color. I also used honey dijon mustard, and it gave the broccoli a nice sweet hint. It really was fabulous and so easy. I will definately use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Rust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
REALLY yummy! I did change this up a bit since I'm not a fan of crunchy broccoli. I substituted balsamic vinegar for red wine vinegar, and blended all the marinade ingredients up in a blender. Then I poured this over the brocolli in a pan and let it steam all together. The end result was a tangy and flavorful broccoli side dish instead of a "salad". This seemed to allow the flavors to meld together better, and tone down the overpowering garlic and vinegar. Sprinkle with parmesan at the end and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was so good! It was gone right after I served it. A friend of mine keeps asking me for the recipe. This will be the second time that I ahve given it to her. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Becker Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Extremely yummy as described. I will keep this one in mind for the veggie table at future parties or whenever you want to eat broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I thought this recipe was good. I made my own red wine vinegar and since I didn't have any parmesan cheese, I omitted it. It was even good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States