Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I loved this recipe. I was looking for new recipes with fresh broccoli and this is one I will definitely make again. Easy to prepare and excellent flavor. Just make sure you like food with a strong garlic flavor. I forgot to put on the parmesan chhese and still thought it was great! My kids thought the flavor was too strong. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I blanched the broccoli to bring out the bright green color and then shocked it in an ice bath. I really thought this was going to be a delicious side dish but it turned out to be quite underwhelming. So sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I made this recipe using half the garlic. I thought it was really good. My husband, who is a picky eater, like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I loved this recipe. It is so simple to make. The only modifications I made were to blanch the broccoli first for the beautiful green color that it brings out, and I also used balsamic vinegar instead of the red wine. It gave it a slightly sweeter taste and very mild acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
We love this recipe. To spice it up, we use Colman's mustard. And for variety we've added blanched asparagus but we've never blanched the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Yuck,, too much salt and garlic...after a few bites- had to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
We LOVED this recipe! My hubby usually complains at the sight of raw broccoli and he devoured this and said I should make MORE next time! I followed the recipe almost exactly..only substituting parmiggiano reggiano for the regular parmesan cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, New York, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Great flavor. It's an easy recipe with great results. Don't forget the cheese at the end, it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
We love this recipe. I make it at least once a week, because it's my husband's favorite side dish. I do the measurements on olive oil and vinegar backwards. 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/3 cup vinegar. The other way was a little too oily. I also add pine nuts (before or after chilling), and my husband gets cranky if I forget the pine nuts. For the Dijon mustard, I use stone-ground mustard. And I almost always an entire pod of garlic. We're of the opinion that you can never have too much garlic, especially if you both have it. I salt everything to taste, so I'm sure I use more like 1/2 tsp. like other commenters mentioned. But I don't even measure salt, I just salt to taste. Oh, also I usually forget to make this ahead of time and end up only marinating it for 1 hour, which is probably why I can get away with using extra vinegar. It doesn't have to marinate for 3 hours. It's fantastic anyway. Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
For me this was to sour (from the vinegar). Not my favorite thing, but my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States