Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made this a while back and forgot to review it. I wanted to put in my two cents since many people gave it less than stellar reviews. This was awesome and I am making it again today. I used the mortar and pestle and I think that will make a big difference because it really crushes all that flavor out of the garlic. Otherwise, I made it exactly as the recipe instructed. I really love strong flavors so if you do not then beware - if you do however, I recommend this. This is a wonderful, easy way to get your greens and I just love that it is served raw because that is more nutritious. I did not cook it beforehand like some others did. I think it cooks a little in the marinade but one of it's most appealing characteristics is it's crunch. It lends a nice balancing texture to any meals where a soft texture may be more dominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My husband said this is his new favourite way to eat broccoli... and that is saying a lot!!! I used 2 cloves of garlic and kept everything else the same. We wanted to eat this right away.. so i mixed it up.. microwaved for 1 1/2 minutes and then put in the fridge.. it was much faster than blanching, and the flavours were wonderful.. done everything in 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very garlicy and tangy! We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was such a hit with my family. I didn't have red wine vinegar or three hours (the family was hungry). So I substituted white balsamic vinegar for the red wine; steamed the broccoli and garnished with chopped green onion. The warmth of the broccoli helped the dressing marinate quickly. I was able to serve it in 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munderwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed this recipe almost exactly! I did blanch the broccoli before hand. I kept the red wine vinegar because I wanted a salty side for a sweet ham we were eating. It slightly over powered the rest of the ingredients. I think I might just use 1/8 cup red wine vinegar next time, but i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My husband and I are both garlic lovers, but we just couldn't love this recipe. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Easy recipe and very tasty. I used balsamic vinegar instead of wine vinegar and, while yummy, turned the broccoli dark brown. Still good to eat but an unappetizing color. Just a heads up if you substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Sounds very basic, but wow - really great way to get your greens! I blanched the broccoli according to the reviews, as well as swapped the red wine vinegar with balsamic. Didn't have Dijon so I used honey mustard. Two bunches of broccoli. Created the garlic into a paste by pressing and then smashing with the back of a spoon. Reheated leftovers and while they were good, the flavor was best after a few hours of marinating; overnight doesn't do the dish any favors. Definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gonefishn
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Very tasty, everyone in the family liked it. I used less salt too, more like a big pinch. I also omitted the parmesan. Thanks for the healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
really tasty and super HEALTHY!! I also added raisins and walnuts for a little EXTRA oomph and nutrition :) thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States