Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made this a while back and forgot to review it. I wanted to put in my two cents since many people gave it less than stellar reviews. This was awesome and I am making it again today. I used the mortar and pestle and I think that will make a big difference because it really crushes all that flavor out of the garlic. Otherwise, I made it exactly as the recipe instructed. I really love strong flavors so if you do not then beware - if you do however, I recommend this. This is a wonderful, easy way to get your greens and I just love that it is served raw because that is more nutritious. I did not cook it beforehand like some others did. I think it cooks a little in the marinade but one of it's most appealing characteristics is it's crunch. It lends a nice balancing texture to any meals where a soft texture may be more dominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My husband said this is his new favourite way to eat broccoli... and that is saying a lot!!! I used 2 cloves of garlic and kept everything else the same. We wanted to eat this right away.. so i mixed it up.. microwaved for 1 1/2 minutes and then put in the fridge.. it was much faster than blanching, and the flavours were wonderful.. done everything in 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very garlicy and tangy! We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was such a hit with my family. I didn't have red wine vinegar or three hours (the family was hungry). So I substituted white balsamic vinegar for the red wine; steamed the broccoli and garnished with chopped green onion. The warmth of the broccoli helped the dressing marinate quickly. I was able to serve it in 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munderwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed this recipe almost exactly! I did blanch the broccoli before hand. I kept the red wine vinegar because I wanted a salty side for a sweet ham we were eating. It slightly over powered the rest of the ingredients. I think I might just use 1/8 cup red wine vinegar next time, but i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My husband and I are both garlic lovers, but we just couldn't love this recipe. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Easy recipe and very tasty. I used balsamic vinegar instead of wine vinegar and, while yummy, turned the broccoli dark brown. Still good to eat but an unappetizing color. Just a heads up if you substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Sounds very basic, but wow - really great way to get your greens! I blanched the broccoli according to the reviews, as well as swapped the red wine vinegar with balsamic. Didn't have Dijon so I used honey mustard. Two bunches of broccoli. Created the garlic into a paste by pressing and then smashing with the back of a spoon. Reheated leftovers and while they were good, the flavor was best after a few hours of marinating; overnight doesn't do the dish any favors. Definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gonefishn
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Very tasty, everyone in the family liked it. I used less salt too, more like a big pinch. I also omitted the parmesan. Thanks for the healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
really tasty and super HEALTHY!! I also added raisins and walnuts for a little EXTRA oomph and nutrition :) thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States